Monte Cristo Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
Carolyn, Thank you for this wonderful recipe. I have tried to make monte cristos before by deep frying them and they turned out very greasy. This was a wonderful alternative. I only made one change, and that was to use provolone cheese instead of swiss. It turned out great. My entire family loved them. Of course, it wasn't complete without the strawberry jam on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
These were good. My husband's only complaint was that there was something missing. I did take another reviewer's advice to make a thicker batter and it worked really well. I will make again, but I think I will expirament a bit to find that something missing...Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
Different but good. I have never had a monte cristo before so I can't complain about the batter. However, I did add some thinly sliced onion and green bell pepper & used colby jack cheese instead of swiss. I made these for breakfast this morning and both my daughter and I agreed they were good = part grilled cheese, part french toast w/ omlette ingrediants. Good with hashbrowns! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
I am 15 and one of my goals is to become a chef. I look on this site a lot for recipes that can help me achieve this goal. I really liked this one. It was easy to make and really tasty. I recommend this recipe to anyone for a quick, yummy, and easy lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
I enjoyed this recipe very much and so did my company. If people would like a thicker batter try: 1 1/2 c flour, 1 tbsp baking powder, 1/4 tsp salt, 1 1/3 c water,1 egg. Makes enough for 6 sandwiches. Serve with jam and powdered sugar. Rio R.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
325 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
My family enjoyed these sandwiches. I sifted powdered sugar on mine. If you have a deep fat fryer try putting the sandwich in the basket and deep fat frying so it gets the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALFFINGR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walnut, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
This was OK, nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
these are now my husbands FAVORITES! We had these a few times already! So easy, and great taste. I serve mine w/blackberry jam, to get that "sweet" taste as they do in resturant's. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
i agree with the other review, this needs a "thicker" coating. this is basically a deluxe grilled cheese/french toast (without the syrup). it is very easy and quick to make, and very tasty. i'll try it again with a modified "batter."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2002
i made these sandwiches for my family and friends as a quick easy dinner and they all loved them! this recipe is a little too much like a fancy grilled cheese however....i was looking for a bit of a thicker batter. but overall, i will probably make this easy to make but good meal again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States