Monte Cristo Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
This was easy and quick to throw together after baseball. The kids loved it with grape jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
Everyone liked this nice hot sandwich. I made it on a cold night with some cream of tomato soup. Big Hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
YUM YUM YUM wow i am full!!!!!!!!!!!!! thank you for this great Recipie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
I was SO looking forward to trying this but it really 'bombed'. I followed the directions exactly but it came out either soggy or burnt and soggy. Maybe it was my stove??? Still on the lookout for another recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBILL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
Great recipe. Made this for dinner last night and it turned out great. Do not soak the sandwich too long in the egg dip, do it very quickly. Daughter loved this so much, she requested a second sandwich for her lunch today. She is a big fan of Bennigan's Monte Cristo as well. Used grape jelly instead of strawberry and it was yummy. My daughter preferred the grape anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
This is good! I didn't use mustard or turkey. The first bite was a little strange, but the more I ate of this sandwich the yummier it was! Thanks for sharing this with us Carolyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2003
What a easy and excellant meal! I had never had these before much less made them and was very impressed! They didnt hold together as well as I would have preferred but were still delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
Everyone agreed that this was just okay. Don't compare it to the a "real" Monte Cristo. I did make the batter the other reviewer suggested- which was very gloppy and took awhile to brown. I think it was better than the egg dip would have been though. I served the sandwiches with powdered sugar and strawberry jelly, which is the only thing that even made it ok. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Lilly Freitas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
Carolyn, Thank you for this wonderful recipe. I have tried to make monte cristos before by deep frying them and they turned out very greasy. This was a wonderful alternative. I only made one change, and that was to use provolone cheese instead of swiss. It turned out great. My entire family loved them. Of course, it wasn't complete without the strawberry jam on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
These were good. My husband's only complaint was that there was something missing. I did take another reviewer's advice to make a thicker batter and it worked really well. I will make again, but I think I will expirament a bit to find that something missing...Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States