Monte Cristo Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I skipped the extra layer of bread in the middle only because I'm low on bread until grocery day. I just layered the meat and cheese like I would any other sandwich. I added a little Frank's Hot Sauce to the egg wash and fried these in a little butter in the cast iron skillet. Frying them in the cast iron skillet gave it a wonderful crust. To say that my family liked these would be an understatement. My littlest can't stop talking about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I leave the crust on the bread. Also, I only use turkey if I happen to have it. I also put just a little bit of dijon mustard on the bread. These turn out really good and very crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
very good, but very time consuming IMO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
my boyfriend and i made this sandwich! so good! and so filling! so crispy, the panko crumbs were perfect change to this delicious sandwich!! was a little hard to batter but i think that was user disfunction... :) definately would make this again!! we served it with strawberry jam on the edges
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. Way too heavy on the bread and breading. I think I'll stick with the original, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Made this for my family and discovered it was a huge hit for all ages!! Thanks so much for an easy and extremely tasty dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
These were tasty but very greasy. I only made 1 layer of sandwich & cut into 4ths, they were very filling & we could only eat 2-3 squares each(although we did have green beans & grapes on the side to make it a little healthier :D) I loved the crunch but even though I drained them on paper towels we all kind felt nauseated after eating them-probably because we aren't used to eating so much grease. But give this recipe a try if you like deep fried. If I made these again I would try just pan frying them lightly instead of frying in grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocksteady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I used funnel cake batter instead of breading it was amazing with raspberry jam
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jordan Paris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Gourmet Chicken Sandwich

This is a cut above your everyday chicken sandwich. So satisfying to bite into!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States