Monte Cristo Sandwich - the Real One Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Of course when cooking something like this, you're not doing it to be healthy. It's all about taste and reliving that savory moment which brought you to this recipe. With that being said, I used three slices of each meat... and it was like I was at the restaurant. Every bite just urged me to want to cram in one bite after another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
This was so rich but so delicious! Thanks for sharing SEAWAKIM :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Petre Osborn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Tasty. I opted to do this "grilled cheese style" instead of deep-frying. I used processed cheese slices and all deli ham. Forgot the pepper. I know many liked to dip this in jam, but since I wanted less mess and was serving this to my toddler (I know, not healthy but he loves grilled cheese and this was a treat) I spread some jam (strawberry for him, sour cherry for me) on one slice of the bread. Didn't have any powdered sugar so I had to omit that. I did use paper towels to get as much grease as I could out of the sandwiches before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Just like I remembered! LOVE these! They were a bit on the greasier side than they should be, though. Possibly my frybaby wasn't hot enough. The title doesn't lie - these are the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake'n'Eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This was so delicious, never had one until now and I gotta say it was so good I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
YUM! great recipe! My mom used to love these and turned me onto them when I was a kid. I never can seem to find them on menues where i live. This one fit the bill. I also substituted 1/2 & 1/2 for water and it was perfect. Served with powdered sugar and seedless raspberry jam. NOM NOM NOM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannonhb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I used 1" of olive oil in a small frying pan, on a stove set to medium heat. No toothpicks were on hand, but with careful handling of the sandwiches, I didn't need any. I don't have any currant jelly so I used strawberry preserves. I LOVE Monte Cristo sandwiches! I can't believe I hadn't tried them until now, but I will say that this has found a permanent home in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Absolutely delicious! Tastes just like the Bennigan's version. I used two slices of honey wheat bread, swiss and chedder cheese with turkey. I prepared exactly as directed only I added mayo on each slice in the sandwich and it was sooo good. My two year old gobbled it up. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jharmon40
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
So Delish! I pan fried them in a little butter and served them with Triple Berry Jam. They were so good we had them two nights in a row. A nice treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jharmon40

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Yum!! I love a good (and REAL) Monte Cristo sandwich and this is it. I followed the instructions exactly other than doubling the meat. I discovered this recipe about two months ago and have made it more than three times since. :) Love it! Served with powdered sugar and warmed raspberry preserves on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ddcrowley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Monmouth, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Real N’awlins Muffuletta

A classic New Orleans sandwich piled with deli meats, cheese, and olive dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States