Monte Cristo Sandwich - the Real One Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I've made this recipe a couple of times now. Everyone loves it just the way it is! The kids ask for it as their special birthday dinner & my neighbor keeps asking me when I'm making them again so she can come over for a bite. She said she's tried other Monte Cristo Sandwiches at restaurants and none come close to being as delicious as mine ~ THANK YOU so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katkah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I had my first Monte Cristo sandwich at a local restaurant and just loved it. Since then, I have been searching for a recipe that was as close to that same sandwich as I could get, and I believe I found it. Some other recipes suggest just dipping your sandwich in a milk/egg mixture and grilling like french toast, but I believe the batter and the frying is part of what makes this so delicious. For anyone worried about the oily greasy flavor, I used butter flavored Crisco and then laid them out on a paper towel to soak up the excess grease. They turned out delicious! We made these for a family birthday dinner and they were a hit with EVERYONE (from the little kids to the older adults). We served ours with powdered sugar and drizzled with raspberry preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel
Home Town: Independence, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Walton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I used to LOVE these sandwiches years ago!!! Bennigan's used to sell them. Then I was diagnosed with Celiac disease and have not had one in years. Made them tonight with my gluten free flour and they were fantastic!!! So glad to have them again. Good recipe for gluten free too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I make a special brunch every Sunday for my husband. I made these for the first time. My husband loved them. I didn't care for them at all. Too much batter and grease for my taste. However, I might try the suggestion of cooking them like a cheese sandwich to avoid all the grease next time. So, a big hit as far as my husband was concerned and a big miss from my perspective.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Great recipe, and my sons asked me when I would be making this again! I did substitute milk for the water, added some extra meat, and a dash of vanilla to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Yummy! Family of 5 enjoyed them, however; they were HUGE and too much grease. Made the serving for 8 and our family of 5 only ate 1/4 of the sandwich. Will make like the grill cheese way next time to see who the family likes them. Would make again, but not anytime soon...gotta work these off first. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
An absolutely perfect sandwich, great with strawberry preserves. I'm really amused by those who complain about the grease. I actually keep track of the grease that is soaked up by different foods, and this one soaked up a whole lot less that french fries or okra. Even 90% of cake recipes call for 1/2 cup of some kind of fat. I prefer to indulge every once in a while, and get plenty of exercise. Awesome recipe for that "once in a while" treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIDIMM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Mine turned out great! I used milk instead of water though...and olive oil for cooking and it was greasy at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
excellent sandwich. not too heavy and greasy. i used texas toast and i also put a little vanilla in batter. my kids loved and i will make again. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Of course when cooking something like this, you're not doing it to be healthy. It's all about taste and reliving that savory moment which brought you to this recipe. With that being said, I used three slices of each meat... and it was like I was at the restaurant. Every bite just urged me to want to cram in one bite after another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Real N’awlins Muffuletta

A classic New Orleans sandwich piled with deli meats, cheese, and olive dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States