Monte Cristo Sandwich - the Real One Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by TALKTOKISHA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Surprisingly simple and very tasty. I made it following recipe as is. No alterations were needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TALKTOKISHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Eh, pretty bland. It was better after adding strawberry jam, but not good enough to make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyp382

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Very good. The family and guests liked them. Definitely weren't fancy like the restaurant ones, but I cooked in a little oil and butter. Took a lot of hands for a large batch. Needed 4x the batter for 15 whole sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
An unusual recipe for us to try but we were so glad we did! Dipped our sandwich in strawberry jam... fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Thanks so much for this recipe! Monte cristo has been one of my favorite sandwiches for a years but I didn't have a good recipe til now. Yes it's very heavy, that's why I only indulge once or twice a year!! The only change I made was to saute this in butter (using clarified butter) instead of oil. My family loved this treat for dinner. I served with a nice light fruit salad to offset the clogging of the arteries...LOL Try this once and you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Fantastic! I made this exactly according to the recipe and it turned out so well. Very delicious. These were the best Monte Cristos I have had since Bennigan's closed down. Truly fabulous! I recommend placing the cooked sandwiches on a plate layered with paper towels so the hot oil will be absorbed. They were crispy and delicious and perfect! I enjoyed eating them with raspberry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
One trick that I found, wrap the sandwich tightly in plastic wrap over night. It makes sure it sets while frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin S. Jackson

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
You can make these bit size if you take one piece of bread, cut the crust off, and roll flat with a rolling pin. Layer on a slice of cheese, turkey, and ham and then roll up. Secure with four toothpicks, spaced evenly, and cut into 4 pieces. You dip the pieces individually in the batter and fry them up. They were so cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I've made this recipe a couple of times now. Everyone loves it just the way it is! The kids ask for it as their special birthday dinner & my neighbor keeps asking me when I'm making them again so she can come over for a bite. She said she's tried other Monte Cristo Sandwiches at restaurants and none come close to being as delicious as mine ~ THANK YOU so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katkah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I had my first Monte Cristo sandwich at a local restaurant and just loved it. Since then, I have been searching for a recipe that was as close to that same sandwich as I could get, and I believe I found it. Some other recipes suggest just dipping your sandwich in a milk/egg mixture and grilling like french toast, but I believe the batter and the frying is part of what makes this so delicious. For anyone worried about the oily greasy flavor, I used butter flavored Crisco and then laid them out on a paper towel to soak up the excess grease. They turned out delicious! We made these for a family birthday dinner and they were a hit with EVERYONE (from the little kids to the older adults). We served ours with powdered sugar and drizzled with raspberry preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel
Home Town: Independence, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Walton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Real N’awlins Muffuletta

A classic New Orleans sandwich piled with deli meats, cheese, and olive dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States