Monte Cristo Sandwich - the Real One Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I made this for my sweetheart 2 months into our relationship. It was incredibly easy & so delicious!! Preparing it together was so much fun - it was like foreplay! It was the 1st time for both of us......wink, wink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Hey Everyone! Made this sandwich with two variations I added cream cheese to the middle of the meat and changed the cheese to smoked gouda cheese. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I have made Monte Cristo's using this recipe many many times and everyone who tastes this delicious sandwich wants the recipe! You really can't go wrong if you are looking for the authentic Monte Cristo taste. Just remember to make sure the oil for frying is hot enough! If it's not, you'll end up marinating your sandwich in unhealthy oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TALKTOKISHA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Surprisingly simple and very tasty. I made it following recipe as is. No alterations were needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TALKTOKISHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Eh, pretty bland. It was better after adding strawberry jam, but not good enough to make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyp382

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Very good. The family and guests liked them. Definitely weren't fancy like the restaurant ones, but I cooked in a little oil and butter. Took a lot of hands for a large batch. Needed 4x the batter for 15 whole sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
An unusual recipe for us to try but we were so glad we did! Dipped our sandwich in strawberry jam... fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Thanks so much for this recipe! Monte cristo has been one of my favorite sandwiches for a years but I didn't have a good recipe til now. Yes it's very heavy, that's why I only indulge once or twice a year!! The only change I made was to saute this in butter (using clarified butter) instead of oil. My family loved this treat for dinner. I served with a nice light fruit salad to offset the clogging of the arteries...LOL Try this once and you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Fantastic! I made this exactly according to the recipe and it turned out so well. Very delicious. These were the best Monte Cristos I have had since Bennigan's closed down. Truly fabulous! I recommend placing the cooked sandwiches on a plate layered with paper towels so the hot oil will be absorbed. They were crispy and delicious and perfect! I enjoyed eating them with raspberry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
One trick that I found, wrap the sandwich tightly in plastic wrap over night. It makes sure it sets while frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Real N’awlins Muffuletta

A classic New Orleans sandwich piled with deli meats, cheese, and olive dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States