Monte Cristo Sandwich - the Real One Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
made with cranberry strawberry sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Wonderful sandwich! I used my homemade jalapeño jelly for dipping. It added some zing without taking away from the meat and cheese center. I will make this again for sure, just not on a regular basis-it's a great treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This was a great recipe and I agree that it was like Bennigan's which no longer is in business where I live. At the restaurant they served it was raspberry jelly. So that's what I ate mine with and it's was great. My children loved it too. With the left over batter I even made some deep fried mushrooms. I know that this isn't the healthiest but I figured if you're not eating it everyday. Once in a while won't hurt you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Am not a fan of mixed meat nor of egg, but I remember this being my favorite sandwich of all time from childhood jaunts to Disneyland and that Pirates of the Caribbean restaurant. This recipe teleported me directly back to that time and place. Wow. Used Crisco oil for frying and the crust came out crispy and flaky. Made this for a group of Europeans who had never even heard of a Monte Cristo. Resounding applause from all. Will make again -- but rarely. This thing in a calorie bomb waiting to explode! But worth it, so worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
My son said this is the best food he has ever eaten. My husband wanted it twice in one day--once for lunch and once for dinner. Absolutely heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
It brought me right back my favorite NY deli. Perfection in a sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
My husband and I liked it, but my toddlers did not. My 5-year old asked for a "regular" ham and cheese sandwich instead and my 3-year old only picked the ham out of it. I personally would give it 3.5 stars, but I don't think I'll make it again since the kids didn't like the combination of sweet and savory together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Who needs Bennigans?!?!?! Not I!! This tasted almost identical to what I'm used to eating at the restaurant. I took the suggestion of some other reviews and used milk instead of water and asked a little vanilla flavor and this was delicious!!!!! Another change I made was using the egg/challah bread instead of plain 'ol white bread and it did fry beautifully. Since that bread is thicker though I had to make double the batter for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrzEdwards

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Added bacon with the turkey and used Monterey Jack Cheese. Fried in Butter excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I made this for my sweetheart 2 months into our relationship. It was incredibly easy & so delicious!! Preparing it together was so much fun - it was like foreplay! It was the 1st time for both of us......wink, wink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Real N’awlins Muffuletta

A classic New Orleans sandwich piled with deli meats, cheese, and olive dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States