Monte Cristo Sandwich - the Real One Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I actually REALLY liked this. We used wheat bread. It is VERY filling. We don't eat fried foods much at all, and my family of 2 adults, and two small children split 2 sandwiches between us. Oh, and the batter was barely enough to cover the 2 sandwiches. We dipped in strawberry and apricot jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
Double the batter as suggested by another reviewer. I use wooden BBQ skewers cut into thirds instead of toothpicks, which were too short to use adequately. I made one sandwich with hard salami, turkey, and cheddar cheese, and they were excellent. The ham, turkey and swiss sandwiches were also very good. Don't serve this with other fried foods -- I served homemade French fries and it was just too much oil for one meal. I think the best way to describe this sandwich is that it's a fun novelty to say you tried once. It came out exactly as we expected, but I don't think we'll do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
These were sooo good and very easy! My kids even loved them!! Next time I will add moe cheese though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
very easy to assemble and it just gets easier and more tempting from there :o) make sure oil is at or very cloese to recommended temp, want the center warm and cheese to 'ooze' but you don't want it to burn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSIMOOS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newtown Square, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
UGGH. I had never had a monte cristo sandwich before, but it sounded tasty and the reviews were great so i gave it a try. It did not taste good. I usually dont eat deep fried foods often, maybe thats why, but this was horrible for me. Sorry but i will never try this again. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
This IS the monte cristo from the Blue Bayou at Disneyland. I've eaten it many times. Excellent recipe and simple to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Huge Hit in my house - The Batter is just perfect! I served mine sprinkled with powdered sugar and raspberry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I t was excellent. My family and I had just had a Monte Cristo at Disneyland and we were not impressed. I came home and looked this recipe up and made some. My famoly raved over the sandwich. It gets an A+ from my family and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Very good, filling sandwich. I used the Amish White Bread I made earlier for this. I pan fried the sandwich, and it worked very well for me. (I just couldn't justify all the oil for two sandwiches.) Boyfriend who never had a Monte Cristo before this, requested that we make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I also diluted the batter just a little to make it easier to use. After dipping the sandwich in batter, I coated them with dry bread crumbs on all sides. Made them easier to handle and they came out of the fryer with a nice crispy coating. The kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Real N’awlins Muffuletta

A classic New Orleans sandwich piled with deli meats, cheese, and olive dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States