Monte Cristo Sandwich - the Real One Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
This recipe is great! My family loved it. It was a fantastic way to make a quick, easy, great-tasting supper that tasted 'company special'. I think I will be making these for our holiday parties this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I ALWAYS use the box of Tempura batter to make my Monte Cristo's and it is much better than basic batter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Not quite like the restaurant, but still really tasty. It was also easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This is the real one. It's perfect. Most recipes for a monte christo are nothing more than a sandwich with french toast like bread and this one is truly breaded. Thanks so much for the recipe. They're just like I remember having at Bennigan's restaurant! Husband LOVED them and the recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Evanston, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
The Bomb!!!! Just like Bennigan's...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SSlimm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Sanford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
I used potato bread and it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
This was SO good!! I felt like I was in Disneyland eating the real thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura N.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
So good! All different meats and cheeses are great. We dust with powdered sugar and dip in grape jam. :) The breading reminds me of funnel cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Oh these were marvelous! I truly enjoyed them, and the flavor reminded me of the Bennigans Restaurant Monti Cristos but smaller!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MammaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This is a very good recipe. But not the kind that I like. When we made it at work, we make the sandwiches with american, swiss, turkey and ham. We also make them a day in advance and wrap each tightly in cling wrap and then wrap them all together. This will help them stay together when frying. You could also do this a couple hours before frying. Then we dip them in egg and then in grahm crackers. Gives it a wonderful sweet crust and makes it very crispy. Finally cut them in half before serving. Alot more work yes but well worth it in my opinion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Real N’awlins Muffuletta

A classic New Orleans sandwich piled with deli meats, cheese, and olive dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States