Monte Cristo Sandwich - the Real One Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Yes. That is pretty much the one you get at Bennigans. Excellent. I used a deep fryer and followed the recipe. This is a deep fryed sandwich severed with jelly and powdered sugar. It is going to be high in calories. Its a once a year food but really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvisgood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This recipe is awesome. Truly the real Monte Cristo Sandwich. I'm really looking forrward to making it. Thx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I love this sandwich, I lived in Florida where places had this on the menu- now im in Nashville and cannot find it anywhere. This was as close to the real recipe that ive made. I always use 3 slices of bread like a club sandwich to keep the meat and cheese seperate. Dip it in rasberry preserves. I would eat this every day if it wasnt so bad for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairview, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I had never eaten a Monte Cristo Sandwich. I had seen them on the menu in restaurants but, I was afraid to order one in case it was a bust. When I saw this recipe I had to try it. My son & oldest grandangel were here and they said it was a great Monte Cristo. I did not cut the sandwiches until they were cooked and ready to serve. I fried them in my cast iron skillet with about 1 to 1 1/2" of oil. I sprinkled with powdered sugar and served with jam. They were truly great!! I have made them several times since and always make extra for the next day. We think they are better the next day heated in the microwave for a few seconds. Tried making with graham cracker crumbs as one reviewer suggested. It did not work well at all. Will only make the Real One from now on. Followed the directions and it made 4 sandwiches nicely with a little mix left over that I poured in the hot oil to make a funnel cake. THANKS FOR THE GREAT RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mee-Maw

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
These were great! Used Potato bread instead of white bread, and served w/ a side of raspberry jam for dipping, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
This sandwich is to die for! I loved it made exactly like the recipe said. However, it is so versatile and can be made with whatever you have on hand. Any kind of bread, meat, and cheese. And, since we are on a tight budget, it was a nice, inexpensive meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I made these for dinner last night and wow heart attack heaven! The batter needs to be doubled if you plan to make the whole amount. My kids and husband liked this but we all agreed it was really to oily and heavy. We could each only eat 1/4 of the sandwich and we felt pretty lethargic from it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
I have made these twice - they are my favorite. I always add more meat and cheese to the sandwhiches and this time I had it with Cranberry Orange dipping sauce (found on this site). Wonderful flavor mix to the sandwhich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
My husband and I really enjoyed these. We doubled both the batter and the meat. I didn't have any jams or jellies that would go well with this, so we skipped the powdered sugar, and had honey mustard instead. We had "Green Banana Fries" from this site with this and they complimented each other well. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Real N’awlins Muffuletta

A classic New Orleans sandwich piled with deli meats, cheese, and olive dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States