Monte Cristo Sandwich - the Real One Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I know it sounds nasty, but if you want to avoid a "fried" flavor, fry the sandwiches in shortening. There won't be any trace of oily/fried taste (and it won't stink up your house). We made two sandwiches and needed more batter than the recipe made, so we had to whip up more while the second batch of sandwich quarters were frying. I was a little concerned that the bread or batter would absorb a lot of oil, but they barely absorbed any as long as the temperature was maintained (we fried ours at around 380 degrees). This was AWESOME as an occasional treat, really close to the restaurant version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
It was fun to find this recipe! My husband loves these. We affectionately call this the Monte Crisco. Using regular sandwich bread, I basically combined 2 sandwiches (bread, turkey, cheese, ham, bread, repeat). To help keep the sandwiches together I pressed them flat and put them in the fridge under a heavy plate for an hour. Then inserted toothpicks at a 45 degree angle. We serve ours with honey, and we really enjoy these as a rare treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Russell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
These are easy to make, and hard to find at restaurants. So make it home for a Sunday brunch. They are sooo delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I first made this sandwich with French toast (egg bread), and I cooked/fried it in a non-stick pan with butter. It was too soft. Tonight, I deep fried the sandwich in oil, and I was more satisfied with the crunchy, harder feel and fat taste. I used raspberry preserves on the side, french fries, and a pickle. I rarely eat fried foods, but doing this once a year may not hurt. It tasted like the one Bennigan's made. Of course, in our area of Houston and Victoria, TX, we no longer have Bennigans. I think they're all closed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Very good sandwich. My 3yr old even gobbled a whole one slathered in strawberry jelly. I didn't use as much oil as called for and they turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garden City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This recipe has replaced my own personal concoction. Now even my husband, who once thought this sandwich was "weird", loves when these are for dinner. We live very rural, so we use raspberry jam, heated, for the dipping sauce most of the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALIEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Very good, although didn't fry ours because didn't want a greasy sandwich. It still turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chefbound
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
great recipe! my husband loves and misses the monte cristo he used to order at bennigans and was so excited when he saw i was making this. he said it tasted JUST like the original...maybe even better because i made it. ; ) next time i will double the meat and cheese just to making it more filling. other than that it was amazing!! i don't have a deep fryer so i just cooked it in vegetable oil on the stove top. i used about an inch or so of oil and turned it every couple seconds. yummmmmmmy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefbound

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, Oregon, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
all messiness aside... this is the best! I have four young picky eaters with lots of picky eating friends. It's always a hit! We don't care for swiss, we use jack. I've tried monte cristos at resturants that don't come close to this. Again this is messy, but worth the clean up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by time2eat

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Simple to make, make sure the oil is hot enough or they will hold oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Real N’awlins Muffuletta

A classic New Orleans sandwich piled with deli meats, cheese, and olive dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States