Monte Cristo Sandwich - the Real One Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
Simple and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
I served with Jam for dipping, turned out great. Husband loved, said it tasted just like the resturaunt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
IT'S DELICIOUS! Do not bother with other Monte Cristo recipes unless they're deep fried like this. (I know it's not the healthiest, but hey, if you want healthy, eat a salad.) The only change I would make is to add a bit more ham & turkey to each sandwich. Also, it's just not complete without a side of seedless red raspberry jam for dipping. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
This is a fool proof recipe, but I agree with Vange's suggestions. This recipe can be very successfully accomplished in a pan with clarified butter. I like the results better than deepfrying, and the flavor is so much better. I might also suggest using eggbread, because it looks so beautiful on the plate when you're finished. I love strawberry preserves with mine along with the powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
371 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
Yummy! Even my 7 yr old son loved this! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Swope-Meader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
Very, Very good! I have been looking for a recipe like this! Better than the grilled sandwiches. I heated the oil to 400 degrees since the sandwiches are large and tend to make the oil drop a few degree when they are fried. DO NOT SUBSTITUTE baking soda for the powder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
This was FANTASTIC! I thought it was almost exactly like Bennigan's famous Monte Cristo, although the hubby thought there was "something different" (I think it was the brand of ham/turkey that I used). I followed the recipe to a T, deep fried it, and served it up with some powdered sugar and raspberry jam/preserves. Talk about good! My only problem was that by the third sandwich, I was scraping the bottom of the bowl for the batter, so I would probably double the batter mixture next time (luckily, I was only making three sandwiches).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
I thought this was super easy and delicious. It is different and was extremely well received at a ladies brunch. I am keeping this one in the file. I did not serve this with a currant sauce but a few ladies said that raspberry sauce is excellent with it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
Tastes just like I remember it from the restaurant. Very easy, however, I was only able to do 9 quarters of a sandwich with the egg batter. This was perfect for my family, but if you need more, i would double the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
Omigosh, this reminds me so much of the summer I spent in Quebec City in 1988. Wouldn't change a thing. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazydoglady

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Real N’awlins Muffuletta

A classic New Orleans sandwich piled with deli meats, cheese, and olive dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States