Monte Cristo Sandwich - the Real One Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
This is a fool proof recipe, but I agree with Vange's suggestions. This recipe can be very successfully accomplished in a pan with clarified butter. I like the results better than deepfrying, and the flavor is so much better. I might also suggest using eggbread, because it looks so beautiful on the plate when you're finished. I love strawberry preserves with mine along with the powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
340 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
I'm not a big grease fan and to some that might be the best part of this sandwich. I cooked the first two sandwiches according to the recipe. To no surprise the grease took over the flavor. As a result, I decided to eliminate the grease for the rest and lightly coated the pan. I cooked it like I would a grilled cheese. The sandwich was DELICIOUS and my mind was put at ease b/c I was not clogging my arteries. I also used Hawaiian Bread and dipped them in blackberry jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
283 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
Excellent sandwich for students to make with extra stuff lying around the house. Subed Old Cheddar for Swiss and fried it in a pan with just a little margarine, like french toast. Absolutely amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
This IS the monte cristo from the Blue Bayou at Disneyland. I've eaten it many times. Excellent recipe and simple to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
I was very curious about this sandwich so decided to make it for dinner. My husband and I with raised brows took our first bite and were pleasantly surprised. Again with curiousity we tried our next bites with strawberry jam. Very tasty! But I honestly don't think I'll make it again unless I happen to have some odd reason to gain weight. I just can't justify eating a batter dipped sandwich. Hubby thought we should have deep fried candy bars with it, hehe. Good recipe but not worth the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reiscakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
I made this the other night when we were low on groceries.......what a pleasant surprise.....This was awesome!!!! It tasted just like the one at Bennigan's. I left out the ham since I didn't have any, and subbed American cheese since thats what I had, and doubled the batter as other reviewers suggested. I couldn't find my FryDaddy, so I pan-fried it in a deep skillet in about an inch of oil........worked perfectly!! I served with Brandied Blackberry Preserves and it was delicious! Thanks for a cheap and easy recipe to add to the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
Perfect! I used jalapeno Monterey Jack instead of Swiss. One user commented it was hard to keep the sandwich together, so I inserted the toothpicks at such an angle to the bread, that they were barely sticking out. This held together much more securely than just inserting it straight through. Berry jam is a must w/ this. (oh, and I also heated my oil to 400 as someone else suggested....Perfect!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
Making this recipe was my first experience with monte cristo sandwiches, and they were delicious! Surprisingly, they also reheat very well, even in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I made these for dinner last night and wow heart attack heaven! The batter needs to be doubled if you plan to make the whole amount. My kids and husband liked this but we all agreed it was really to oily and heavy. We could each only eat 1/4 of the sandwich and we felt pretty lethargic from it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
I decided to be daring and make the recipe exactly as written but grill on a Foreman Grill to reduce the grease. It wasn't greasy but the bread dried out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Real N’awlins Muffuletta

A classic New Orleans sandwich piled with deli meats, cheese, and olive dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States