Monte Cristo Sandwich - the Real One Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
Yummy! Even my 7 yr old son loved this! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTLES1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
Simple and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
My bf liked this much better than I did. It wasn't quite what I'd tasted before, but it was pretty good. The next time I want to make Monte Cristo sandwiches I'll likely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
IT'S DELICIOUS! Do not bother with other Monte Cristo recipes unless they're deep fried like this. (I know it's not the healthiest, but hey, if you want healthy, eat a salad.) The only change I would make is to add a bit more ham & turkey to each sandwich. Also, it's just not complete without a side of seedless red raspberry jam for dipping. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
I served with Jam for dipping, turned out great. Husband loved, said it tasted just like the resturaunt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
I'm not a big grease fan and to some that might be the best part of this sandwich. I cooked the first two sandwiches according to the recipe. To no surprise the grease took over the flavor. As a result, I decided to eliminate the grease for the rest and lightly coated the pan. I cooked it like I would a grilled cheese. The sandwich was DELICIOUS and my mind was put at ease b/c I was not clogging my arteries. I also used Hawaiian Bread and dipped them in blackberry jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
275 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
Very, Very good! I have been looking for a recipe like this! Better than the grilled sandwiches. I heated the oil to 400 degrees since the sandwiches are large and tend to make the oil drop a few degree when they are fried. DO NOT SUBSTITUTE baking soda for the powder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
I thought this was pretty good, but the batter needed something...(besides the baking power which I forgot!). I served with some strawberry jam mixed with cream. I think I'll add a pinch of cinnamon and a little vanilla next time. However, my finicky eater asked me to make these again (which should automatically warrant five stars) and floored me when she even suggested I serve to the kids for snacking at Easter dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
This was FANTASTIC! I thought it was almost exactly like Bennigan's famous Monte Cristo, although the hubby thought there was "something different" (I think it was the brand of ham/turkey that I used). I followed the recipe to a T, deep fried it, and served it up with some powdered sugar and raspberry jam/preserves. Talk about good! My only problem was that by the third sandwich, I was scraping the bottom of the bowl for the batter, so I would probably double the batter mixture next time (luckily, I was only making three sandwiches).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
I thought this was super easy and delicious. It is different and was extremely well received at a ladies brunch. I am keeping this one in the file. I did not serve this with a currant sauce but a few ladies said that raspberry sauce is excellent with it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Real N’awlins Muffuletta

A classic New Orleans sandwich piled with deli meats, cheese, and olive dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States