Monte Cristo Sandwich - the Real One Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
O MY this was just what I wanted, couldnt not be better. and yes we did fry them in oil about 3 inchees deep at 380# degrees I cut the sandwiched just in half and stuch in 1 toothpick in a angle . My husband cokked them and just kept turning them till done. did not have powered sugar , but did use raspberry per with the seeds on them. even my 7 year old loved it. will only make once in a while because of the calorie count , but defintly worth it to try.. LOVED THEM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I love Monte Cristos! Like the others, I just used cooking spray rather than the oil. Also, I like them much better with muenster cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
we made this and it was incredible, everyone who smelled it wanted some. get blackberry jam and just mix it up reallly well to make it like sauce to dip in, its amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EYP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I have made this 3 times this week and it is my absolute favorite recipe! LOVE IT! The only change i made was butter instead of oil and I only used enough to coat the bottom of the skillet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soccernerd1223

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Delicious! There's no need to deep fat fry. ^_~ I used 2 Tbsp butter and 2 Tbsp vegetable oil in a skillet and dipped the sandwiches in the batter with my fingers instead of using toothpicks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsbnickel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Absolutely fantastic! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Great recipe, but like other comment, we don't eat a lot of fried foods and tho the grease was extremely hot,the grease soaked up so much in the bread we all got very ill, I will have to try again and do as they suggested and just coat the pan and try, that takes from the deep fried monte cristo, but don't want to repeat another night like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Wow. I used to get this at Bennigans all the time. This tasted just like it! The batter heavily coats 3 sandwiches. I used american and a little cheddar cheese. I heated the oil in a med sauce pan, about 3 inches. Using tongs, lowered the sandwich in and turned it halfway through cooking. I skipped the powdered sugar and dipped it in honey dijion!! Best sandwich ever! Next time I might try it with fresh french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Analyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
The flavor was great! We added a twist. 3 tbl spns butter half clove of sauteed minced garlic 2/3 cup milk 2 tbls flour This makes a great sandwich spread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
excellent...I made what I call "leapin' lizard" sauce to serve on the side. 1/2 rasberry jam 1/2 jalapeno jelly. very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Real N’awlins Muffuletta

A classic New Orleans sandwich piled with deli meats, cheese, and olive dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States