Monte Cristo Sandwich - the Real One Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Yummy! Made these for a quick lunch today. My fiance and I had no errands to run (we were both off on Friday and have the Labor Day holiday to get things done). Because we weren't "out and about," I made a home cooked meal. My fiance never tried a Monte Cristo before, so he didn't know what to expect.... Leary of the traditional powdered sugar "dusting" and jam / dipping sauce, I served his plain, but for me, I went all out lol! This reminds me EXACTLY of Bennigan's Monte Cristo sandwich (I am SOOO happy to find this recipe on here, especially since all of the Bennigan's around me closed). Since I was only cooking for two, I made one sandwich, cut into quarters (these deep fry better when they're smaller). A half sandwich is the perfect serving size for one person. Because of the heavy batter, these fry up BIG and fill you up very quickly! I pretty much followed SEAWAKIM's directions to the letter except for adding more meat and an extra slice of Swiss cheese (you just can't have enough, IMHO!). I also lightly spread a mixture of dijon mustard / mayo on each slice of bread (be careful tho, too much will make your bread soggy). I think next time, I'll use Hawaiian or egg bread since my fiance wasn't crazy about plain 'ol white bread. Served with heated raspberry preserves and T's sweet potato fries, this hit the spot. Due to the mess factor, I'm not sure how often I'll make these, but I will on occasion for sure. Thanks SEAWAKIM! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I loved this sandwich. I did not deep fry mine though. I dipped in the egg mixture and cooked like french toast or grilled cheese. I also dipped my sandwich in strawberry jam. Oh so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syndi Harris Bowlan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prosser, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
My husband loved this so much he begged me to make more, wrapped them in tin foil and baked them for lunches the next 2 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarlowGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
We make this at least once a month. Awesome meal, we add french fries or tater tots as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony Tags

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alsip, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
They were decent but nothing too special for me. I've had other ones that I prefer over these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Circle Pines, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I make this all the time and it is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
One word for these....AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelisa0105

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenly, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I made these for dinner tonight and my kids just loved them and so did I. It turned out exactly as I expected. I get so annoyed with bad reviews based on fat and calorie content you should know by looking this isn't healthy. Things like this are meant to be a treat not a daily meal and as such was perfect as cross between a sandwich and a donut lol. I fried mine in about an inch of oil and flipped quickly to get all the batter cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
excellent. make it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Webster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I also only fried them in a little bit of oil. Family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Real N’awlins Muffuletta

A classic New Orleans sandwich piled with deli meats, cheese, and olive dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States