Monte Cristo Sandwich - the Real One Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Delicious! I was alone with my grandma and we wanted something a little more interesting than plain pasta or pizza. When I suggested this my grandma was like cheering. This was so easy to make! The ingredients are ones that you usually have around the house, so you don't have to make a special trip to the grocery store for ingredients. If you want to try something new and interesting for lunch or dinner I suggest this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabribri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This recipe is FABULOUS,my family and I found it to be BETTER than Bennigans. not as greasy. One tip....I prepared my sandwiches and added mustard to them, and a touch of mayo. And used a sandiwch maker to SEAL THE SANDWICH ALL AROUND. THEN deep fried them. NO GREASE got inside, and it was not greasy at all.....I think if the sides were not sealed it would make for a greasy mess!!!! FABULOUS recipe! LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrszink02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
OMG! This sandwich is wonderful. So good...love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChelleDew
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I've never really liked Monte Cristo Sandwiches from restaurants, my mom and brother always loved them. However I absolutely love this recipe. These sandwiches are devine! We deep fried them in our fry daddy and they came out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jefners3
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This is not the most healthiest recipe I have ever had but it is good an will be great a little smaller as appitizer. Made a cherry puree to go with it. Delich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jefners3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by highschooldomestic:)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
LOVED it, but i would but 2 slices of each meat on it. it was a bit enpty on the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
The batter could not be more perfect. One exception was that we used vegetarian deli "meats" as a substitute, which makes the whole thing a little lighter and better for you. Enjoy with a variety of jams/preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Yep- YUMM! I prefer Provolone to swiss though. Strawberry jelly on the side is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redfield, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
To me this has to have RASPBERRY preserves. And powdered sugar dusting is a MUST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mendenhall, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Yummy! Made these for a quick lunch today. My fiance and I had no errands to run (we were both off on Friday and have the Labor Day holiday to get things done). Because we weren't "out and about," I made a home cooked meal. My fiance never tried a Monte Cristo before, so he didn't know what to expect.... Leary of the traditional powdered sugar "dusting" and jam / dipping sauce, I served his plain, but for me, I went all out lol! This reminds me EXACTLY of Bennigan's Monte Cristo sandwich (I am SOOO happy to find this recipe on here, especially since all of the Bennigan's around me closed). Since I was only cooking for two, I made one sandwich, cut into quarters (these deep fry better when they're smaller). A half sandwich is the perfect serving size for one person. Because of the heavy batter, these fry up BIG and fill you up very quickly! I pretty much followed SEAWAKIM's directions to the letter except for adding more meat and an extra slice of Swiss cheese (you just can't have enough, IMHO!). I also lightly spread a mixture of dijon mustard / mayo on each slice of bread (be careful tho, too much will make your bread soggy). I think next time, I'll use Hawaiian or egg bread since my fiance wasn't crazy about plain 'ol white bread. Served with heated raspberry preserves and T's sweet potato fries, this hit the spot. Due to the mess factor, I'm not sure how often I'll make these, but I will on occasion for sure. Thanks SEAWAKIM! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Real N’awlins Muffuletta

A classic New Orleans sandwich piled with deli meats, cheese, and olive dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States