Monte Cristo Sandwich - the Real One Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I love Monte Cristo sandwiches in the restaurants, so I wanted to give them a try at home. This didn't turn out well at all for me. They came apart in the fryer and even when I managed to keep some together they just didn't have a lot of flavor except the grease flavor from cooking. My kids hated them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Very simple and very tasty. Picture was very helpful to determine if I would like to try the recipe. Ever since Disneyland, have been trying to find recipe that could simulate the Blue Bayou. Not yet, but getting close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This was my first monte cristo sandwich ever so I don't really have anything to compare it with. It was good, everyone in the family enjoyed it and said that it was a nice change from the normal plain turkey sandwich. I will make this again, it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Really yummy, I added American cheese as well as the Swiss to mine. Also, I didn't cut them into quarters until after I fried them and served with raspberry preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
what a delicious sandwich! it is great with jelly. my only suggestion is doubling the meat portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Unlikelyrox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Wow! Never made or had these before. My husband asked for these & said they were just as good or better then he has had. Probably will only be for a special brunch now & then, since they are deep fried w/ham, cheese, batter..etc....but, worth for a special treat. I doubled the batter to make 6 large sandwiches. I used a loaf of fresh Itlian bread you find in the deli & cut into large slices. Basically by the time I put the cheese and meat on the slices the toothpick fit perfectly. I did not quarter them & my swiss cheese didn't melt on the inside, but, no one complained--just raves. My kids would only eat them with the powder sugar (and loved them), BUT, DON'T miss using the current jelly sauce as mentioned by the submitter--actually I used rasberry since that is what I happen to have---husband and I agreed that final touch made the sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Our first Monte Cristo Sandwich so it wouldn't be fair to comparatvely rate this, but for the first one we've had it was okay, not bad at all. Not a true family favorite for all the members of my family, but enjoyed by most and easy to prepare. I wonder how much better this would taste if you spiced up the flour batter a bit and/or used seasoned (flour based) fry (like cajun chicken fry by zatarains)..We might try it like this one day. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
thought this was a great sandwich - I have had many Monte Cristo's, and this is one of the best. My only suggestion is to make sure your oil is at least 365 degrees before frying or else they will be oily, and also drain on paper towels before serving. I have also served these at a heavy "snack" party - you can make them early in the day, and re-heat in a hot oven for about 5 minutes - they will puff, and be gooey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stuart, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
This was GREAT! I added american cheese to them as well, and I grilled them in a skillet with butter instead of frying them. they are fatty enough without the frying. we ate them with honey mustard too, it complimented the sweet and savory flavors. They were incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bre

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
Excellent recipe! Haven't had a Monte Cristo in years, this was as good as I remember. I'm really happy to be able to make them myself now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Real N’awlins Muffuletta

A classic New Orleans sandwich piled with deli meats, cheese, and olive dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States