Monte Cristo Sandwich - the Real One Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Wonderful!!!! I made a reduction of Balsamic vinegar, cherry jam, ground ginger and white pepper for dipping and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvonne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
If you like the taste of oil then this is great....if not....just eat the sandwiches and save yourself some time....great for chapped lips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
So many reviews include ways to change this sandwich because of it being deep fried. Please don't; this is what the sandwich is. If you want to do it differently, create a recipe making a sandwich the way you like it, but don't go telling people how to change it to make it taste worse. Oh yeah, another thing... no one cares what you think or hour husband thinks or your dog thinks... it's not about YOU; get over yourself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
After reading the reviews, I wasn't sure if I'd think this was too greasy, or if I should fry it in a skillet like french toast, as some people suggested. But I really liked how these turned out, and I liked that they reminded me of restaurant style Monte Cristo sandwiches. I made mine with hawaiian rolls, as someone else did, and I just used blackberry jam that I had, which was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
We make this as one of the many turkey reprisals that follow a large turkey dinner :) Very good, definitely not something I make often as it is super fatty, but it really is a nice indulgence around the holidays. Very simple recipe, I always find I need more batter though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Good recipe... Thnks... www.menuresepmasakan.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This was awesome! My kids loved it and have already requested I make it again. I doubled the batter recipe and doubled the meat in the sandwich. I also used cheddar because that is what I had on hand. Will try with Swiss next time. We ate it with red currant jam on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This tasted just like the Monte Cristo at my favorite restraunt. LOVE IT LOVE IT. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
These taste awesome, but I have a few problems with the recipe. First, I needed to double the batter to have enough to cover all 16 mini-sandwiches. Second, and the most bothersome: unless you have an industrial sized, restaurant model deep fryer, you will need to work in small batches to fry these all up, which means that dinner is NOT on the table in 15 minutes. My "quick, easy, hard day dinner" took me over an hour. We still really liked the results, but lesson learned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Real N’awlins Muffuletta

A classic New Orleans sandwich piled with deli meats, cheese, and olive dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States