Monte Cristo Hotdog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
These were....surprisingly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Wonderful change from the common hot dog!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I gave this a 4 because I didn't have strawberry jam and had to use grape jelly and I thought it was GREAT! It is a keeper for me when I need a hotdog with style!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
i think I would prefer a sweet red pepper jelly, to strawberry jam...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earthygirl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
grill the hot dog buttered, i would also add ham... saw on food network show
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This was different. I didn't love it, but it wasn't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Don't knock it until you try it. This is really one of the ultimate salty/sweet combinations. I heard about this first on Diners, Drive-in's and Dives and we had to make this for ourselves. It's really good. No, really. Just make sure you do use a good quality dog and a nice brand of swiss cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I used raspberry instead of strawberry jam and regular hot dogs. The taste is there, but the method needs a little work to make execution easier. I thought Monte Cristo sandwiches are supposed to be lightly battered then deep-fried? No matter, we thought this was an interesting twist on your traditional hot dog, as we enjoy sweet and savoury combinations. Served this with "Carolyn's Sweet Potato Fries" from AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I used turkey dogs, since that's what I eat, and I have to say that I am a big fan. I do not think I will brave eating this in front of the man or friends, but when I am home alone - with no one but my dogs to make gross faces and ridicule me, you betcha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Wow! This was amazing. The sweetness of the jelly really made this. Emily you are amazing for coming up with the idea. 1,000 thanks for posting!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States