Monster Sour Cream Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
Very rich and very delicious! I did personalize this recipe a bit. I used cheddar and pepper jack cheeses, which I also placed inside the enchilada. Also, instead of the cream of chicken soup, I used condensed bean and bacon soup, merely because we like the flavor with this dish, and for a little extra zip, I added some taco seasoning to the soup mixture. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2002
My husband will never leave me now! He took one bite of this and vowed his undying love!!!!You have to make these, they are soooo easy and absolutely delicious! I made chicken, also beef- seasoned with Taco Bell taco seasoning, and thinned the sauce just a tad with a little chicken broth...MMMmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Azle, Texas, USA
Living In: Stephenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2001
These enchiladas are very yummy and very filling. I substituted 1 lb of chicken breasts for 3 lb chicken meat and 1 cup of cactus salsa for 1 cup of chilis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2000
This recipe is delicious! Thanks Teri! Next time I might reduce the amount of sauce used, but other than that, everyone loved them! Closest thing to Lean Cuisine Chicken Enchilada Sousa yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Paula, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2000
My husband and I loved this recipe!! The muenster cheese adds a great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
My husband thought it was delicious. I loved it too, but didn't give it five stars because it turned out more like a casserole vs. enchiladas. It had a great taste and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
These were excellent!! My family asked for seconds and thirds of these. My kids really loved them, which is a definite plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This was soooooo good! An hour was about 5-7 minutes too long on the cooking time. I was frustrated that the grocery store didn't have shredded muenster cheese available. Nor did they have it available in a block. The only option that they had was sliced muenster cheese. I only used one bunch of green onions, and I felt even that was a bit excessive. Two bunches would be waaaay too many green onions. The day-after leftovers seemed to be a lot tastier than the night that they were freshly made. Either way though, the enchiladas were simply amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
WOW this was such a hit with my family. I personally thought it was a bit too "soupy" as well, and even a bit too rich. I will play with the proportions of soup, perhaps cutting it with some chicken broth, or perhaps ditch the soup entirely and use a homemade bechamel with a chicken broth base? I am not a big fan of casseroles that use condensed soups to begin with, but my husband will insist that I make this again even if I have to alter it for my own tastes (he would be disappointed if he knew I only gave this four stars).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This was the best recipe we've made yet from this site!!! DEEEELISH! We loved it so much, I made sure to come back and do a review. For those people that didn't use the 2 cheeses, you are MISSING OUT! The cheeses together were amazing. I normally don't like this much cheese, but it was sooooo good. Also, we followed the reviewer that recommended the bean and bacon condensed soup and taco seasoning. Those were perfect add-ons. I can't imagine using cream of chicken. The bean and bacon has the consistency of beans/refried beans and with the taco dip added in, it tasted just like a Mexican dish. I would recommend to just layer the ingredients and add more tortillas. I ended up with 5-6 tortillas in the dish and husband and I both thought that amount should have been doubled. Like the previous poster said, the whole thing just fell apart by the time it's done and probably would have held up better with a lot more tortillas and layering. Plus it would have cut down on prep time by quite a bit. One last thing. . .to "roast" the chicken (I'm not a cook so I didn't really know how to do this) we used boneless chicken thighs on high broil for 10 minutes - 5 minutes on one side and 5 minutes on the other and then cut that up and put it in the dish (leave them still a bit pink). I was SHOCKED at how tender and yummy the chicken was this way!! I will probably do this for many more recipes now that I know. This will be a regular in our house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States