Monster Sour Cream Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
This recipe is easy and good, but I dressed it up a little by sauteing 1/2 an onion in a little oil and then adding a can of mexi corn and salt and pepper. I then added in the chicken and added 2 tsps of cumin. I also warmed the soup and the sour cream mixture to help it mix better. I too wanted this to be a little zestier, so I serve it with a fresh jalapeno. As a side I serve refried black beans. I also reduced the high fat content in the original recipe by using low fat sour cream and low fat soup. It saved a lot of calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
This is one of our favorites. I love to make it over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zusjames

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Pretty good. We would have liked it to be more spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
The flavor was good but these turned out a bit mushy and upappealing to look at. Reduced down to two cans of cream of chicken soup and added some frozen diced onion as well as ground cumin. Topped with additional cheese, sour cream and a chipotle salsa before serving. Used fresh chicken breast that I boiled and shredded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
This is a fantastic recipe that can be easily adapted to what is on hand. I used frozen chicken breasts (pre-cooked). I used green/yellow onion powder instead of fresh chopped onion. I reduced the soup to two cans, replacing it with one cup of Sadie's (local restaurant) green chile sauce. I added some garlic powder, onion powder and a dash of cumin. I made a casserole, laying the corn tortillas flat in layers because I'm lazy. In place of the colby cheese I used a colby/cheddar mix. I think the Muenster and sour cream make this dish so I wouldn't skimp on those. In fact I increased the muenster, although I did use a bit of cream cheese instead of sour cream because I ran out of sour cream. I used fresh roasted chopped green chile that I had previously frozen (1 cup). I'd suspect that my dish is spicer than others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smadera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
I was so looking forward to tasting this recipes, especially after reading all the rave reviews. I was so disappointed with it. I followed the directions.......and it was awful. My husband wouldn't even eat it, and he's not that picky. I felt horrible that I tried feeding it to my family. We won't keep it in the rotation. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
it's VERY filling. However, even after adding shredded cheese, diced onion & tomato to the chicken and mixing it w/ some sauce, I found the dish to be rather bland. My husband loved it though and had three helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
really good! using the roasted chicken from the grocery store made preparing this dish a snap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph webb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
quite delicious. i definitely did not use as much chicken as was called for...the dish overflowed as was. but it was so tasty and worked divinely. my fiance could not wait to eat more the next day!!! i will make them again for certain:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valinutah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
Very good, all my kids loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States