Monster Cookies VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2000
I used devil's food cake mix and it worked and tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2001
I used the yellow cake mix and found them too "cakey" tasting... next time I'll try chocolate. They were extremely easy and quick, however, if you don't have the time to do it any other way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
I substituted butterscotch chips for the walnuts -- tastes great!! They were simple & fast to make. I will try them with other variations & cake mix flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
great! turned out really crunchy, it was full of texture, flavour and crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2004
These cookies are no culinary masterpiece, but they're easy and a huge crowdpleaser. I doubled the recipe (nearly 70 cookies!) and took them to work; they received many compliments. My roommate, who tried one, asked me to help her make a batch to take with her on a camping trip. I followed exactly except for using 1/2 cup ss chocolate chunks and 1/2 cup ss chocolate chips, as well as adding 1 cup of M&M's. Pecans are also good instead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
somehow they were burned on the bottoms and undercooked at the same time. they stayed in little lumps and did not flatten out when i baked them. i put them in the refrigerator so they would harden a bit. overall though, they taste awesome, they just look sort of funny. i brought them on a tennis trip and people were hesitant to try them and said they definately dont taste like normal cookies and don't look quite right, but they were gone in about an hour. i think i ate 10 while baking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
wanted to whip up a quick batch of cookies for neighbor girl. This fit the bill. I didn't have a yellow mix so used French Vanilla. Added a bit of this and that; mini chips, raisins, butterscotch chips, and some chopped up Hershey kisses w/Almonds I had left...enough to equal 2 cups total. They baked up beautifully, didn't spread much so can put quite a few on the sheet without fear of overcrowding. They actually didn't taste like cakemix at all. Great recipe that did what it promised. Numerous variation possibilities make this a lovely, versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Delicious! So easy to make and so good to eat! Didn't change a thing with the recipe. I love a nice, soft chocolate chip cookie and these were definitely it! Great recipe! Will absolutely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This was a good cookie - and a great way to get rid of the partial bags of chips that are left over from other recipes. I used chocolate cake mix and just added together chips, nuts and coconut to make 2 cups. They were easy and my kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Good cookies, took these to a potluck and they were gone fast! The kids help make them, so they were proud to take credit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Monster Cookies VI

These cookies are bursting with oats, peanut butter, and whatever else you love!

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States