Monster Cookies VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
There is a mistake in ingredients: should be 8 teaspoons of baking soda not 8 tablespoons. We make monster cookies a lot and this is my grandmother's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This is an awsome recipe. Had a friend over and my sons girlfriend also helped to make this. Plenty to send cookies home with everyone. Absolutly delish! Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
this is the recipe I've been using since I was a kid. Everyone always wants more. I added some chopped pecans & coconut for the first time tonight & that gave it another happy dimension.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hancock, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I've been making these for 30 years. Best kid breakfast on the run. I just omit the chocolate chips, reduce the m&m's in half, and use mini m&m's. freeze well. I fill gallon size, freezer zip lock baggies, flatten as 1" slabs, and I just cut off what I want to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
LOVE THESE!! definitely going into my Christmas Cookie platter (if when I make them they get that far!!) I also cut the serving size down to 20 servings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
You have made a mistake in the amount of soda for this recipe. The taste of soda is prevelant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I followed the recipe pretty close (no corn syrup) and these turned out great. The dough was so good I will be several short of 80.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I followed the suggestion to process some of the oats for fluffier cookies, they still came out flatter than a pancake and had a weird after taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridget

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
My family has been making these cookies forever. Everyone always requests them for the holidays. And I enjoy seeing the look on people's faces when I tell them what all goes in them. I always make sure to add butterscotch chips to them. It makes them even more rich! We also put Grape Jelly in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This is my old stand-by for a huge batch of sure-to-please cookies; it's the one I make more than any other. I am repeatedly asked for the recipe. The previous reviews are correct; the recipe should call for 8 tsp. soda, not 8 Tbsp. Other helpful hints: 4 1/2 c. br. sugar = 2 lbs; 2 cups butter = 1 lb; 3 lbs. peanut butter = a total of 5 3/8 cups; 18 cups rolled oats = more than a 42 oz. box. I shake down my measurement of oats and figure generously; it helps the flattening problem. I also chill the dough before forming the cookies to help prevent flattening. I use 1 lb. each of mini chocolate chips and M&M's, and I much prefer the crunchy peanut butter; the pieces of peanuts add wonderful texture. Do not overbake these! Remove them from the oven while the cracks are still shiny and wet looking, then let them set several minutes before removing them from the pan so they won't fall apart while handling them. This makes a mountain of cookies, but it's wonderful keeping a supply in the freezer for unexpected guests and gatherings; we've never had any problem getting rid of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Monster Cookies VI

These cookies are bursting with oats, peanut butter, and whatever else you love!

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States