Monster Cookies VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This is my old stand-by for a huge batch of sure-to-please cookies; it's the one I make more than any other. I am repeatedly asked for the recipe. The previous reviews are correct; the recipe should call for 8 tsp. soda, not 8 Tbsp. Other helpful hints: 4 1/2 c. br. sugar = 2 lbs; 2 cups butter = 1 lb; 3 lbs. peanut butter = a total of 5 3/8 cups; 18 cups rolled oats = more than a 42 oz. box. I shake down my measurement of oats and figure generously; it helps the flattening problem. I also chill the dough before forming the cookies to help prevent flattening. I use 1 lb. each of mini chocolate chips and M&M's, and I much prefer the crunchy peanut butter; the pieces of peanuts add wonderful texture. Do not overbake these! Remove them from the oven while the cracks are still shiny and wet looking, then let them set several minutes before removing them from the pan so they won't fall apart while handling them. This makes a mountain of cookies, but it's wonderful keeping a supply in the freezer for unexpected guests and gatherings; we've never had any problem getting rid of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This is the same recipe I've used for years. Like many others you'll get a super flat cookie. I don't care for them that way so I take a fourth of the oatmeal and blend it in a food processor until it's a flour like consistency...no more flat cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
I got this recipe from my mother-in-law 10 years ago who had been using it for many years prior. It is absolutely my most favorite cookie in the world; however, I should warn you that 8 TABLESPOONS of baking soda is a bit too much for this recipe. I made that mistake the first time I made them. It leaves a little after-taste although I still devoured them completely up. I suggest using 8 teaspoons instead. My recipe also includes 1 cup of nuts, 2 cups of coconut, and 1/2 cup wheat germ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I've been making these for 30 years. Best kid breakfast on the run. I just omit the chocolate chips, reduce the m&m's in half, and use mini m&m's. freeze well. I fill gallon size, freezer zip lock baggies, flatten as 1" slabs, and I just cut off what I want to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
I have used this recipe for over 15 years and it is the best I've tried. They freeze great and even taste great when eaten right out of the freezer. They make a big batch to last a long time. They are a yummy, chewy peanut butter cookie. It seems like a huge recipe, but definately worth the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This is an awsome recipe. Had a friend over and my sons girlfriend also helped to make this. Plenty to send cookies home with everyone. Absolutly delish! Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I followed the recipe pretty close (no corn syrup) and these turned out great. The dough was so good I will be several short of 80.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
These cookies are a regular when we a traveling. They hold up better than other cookies. I added butterscotch chips and mini M&M's along with the reg. chocolate chips. This batter freezes great - make the entire recipe and freeze the unbaked formed cookies to bake latter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
There is a mistake in ingredients: should be 8 teaspoons of baking soda not 8 tablespoons. We make monster cookies a lot and this is my grandmother's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
this is the recipe I've been using since I was a kid. Everyone always wants more. I added some chopped pecans & coconut for the first time tonight & that gave it another happy dimension.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hancock, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Monster Cookies VI

These cookies are bursting with oats, peanut butter, and whatever else you love!

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States