Monster Cookies VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
I have used this recipe for over 15 years and it is the best I've tried. They freeze great and even taste great when eaten right out of the freezer. They make a big batch to last a long time. They are a yummy, chewy peanut butter cookie. It seems like a huge recipe, but definately worth the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
I got this recipe from my mother-in-law 10 years ago who had been using it for many years prior. It is absolutely my most favorite cookie in the world; however, I should warn you that 8 TABLESPOONS of baking soda is a bit too much for this recipe. I made that mistake the first time I made them. It leaves a little after-taste although I still devoured them completely up. I suggest using 8 teaspoons instead. My recipe also includes 1 cup of nuts, 2 cups of coconut, and 1/2 cup wheat germ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
Everyone loved this recipe. I reduced the recipe down to 20 cookies and had plenty. I also added reeses pieces, Peanut M&Ms and butterscotch chips. The kids just love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
WONDERFUL monster cookies; exactly how I remember they should be. :) Consistency is perfect (the dough sticks together and doesn't fall apart when trying to shape the cookies). Thanks for a great recipe!!! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
cookies spread out in the sheet and were flat. tried to add flour to the remaining batter, but it didn't help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Just what I was looking for! I made 1/3 of the original recipie and had plenty of cookies. Also to the reviewer who had them turn out flat as a pancake, try adding a little flour. I had no problem with spreading. I would like to note that the cookies did fall a little once out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grinnell, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
the 8 TBLS should be 8 TSP (at least that's how my recipe reads). These cookies are my favourite though. They turn out flat and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
These cookies are a regular when we a traveling. They hold up better than other cookies. I added butterscotch chips and mini M&M's along with the reg. chocolate chips. This batter freezes great - make the entire recipe and freeze the unbaked formed cookies to bake latter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This is the same recipe I've used for years. Like many others you'll get a super flat cookie. I don't care for them that way so I take a fourth of the oatmeal and blend it in a food processor until it's a flour like consistency...no more flat cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This is my old stand-by for a huge batch of sure-to-please cookies; it's the one I make more than any other. I am repeatedly asked for the recipe. The previous reviews are correct; the recipe should call for 8 tsp. soda, not 8 Tbsp. Other helpful hints: 4 1/2 c. br. sugar = 2 lbs; 2 cups butter = 1 lb; 3 lbs. peanut butter = a total of 5 3/8 cups; 18 cups rolled oats = more than a 42 oz. box. I shake down my measurement of oats and figure generously; it helps the flattening problem. I also chill the dough before forming the cookies to help prevent flattening. I use 1 lb. each of mini chocolate chips and M&M's, and I much prefer the crunchy peanut butter; the pieces of peanuts add wonderful texture. Do not overbake these! Remove them from the oven while the cracks are still shiny and wet looking, then let them set several minutes before removing them from the pan so they won't fall apart while handling them. This makes a mountain of cookies, but it's wonderful keeping a supply in the freezer for unexpected guests and gatherings; we've never had any problem getting rid of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Monster Cookies VI

These cookies are bursting with oats, peanut butter, and whatever else you love!

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States