Monster Cookies V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by amy beth
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I have been making monster cookies for as long as I can remember. I lost my traditional recipe and this one was as close as I can remember. It worked out wonderfully and I will be using this from now on. I always make these at Halloween and Christmas, using the seasonal colored M&M's. I cut the recipe in half, using a cup of choc. chips and a cup of M&M's. From experience, I have learned you CAN put too much chocolate in them. They get too sweet and you can't enjoy all of the different flavors. Let the cookies cool on the pan for about 10 minutes before you move them to a wire rack to finish cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hermitage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
I have used this recipe many times before and these are GREAT! I divide the dough in 3 ways and I might add coconut in one, pecans in another and broken heath bar or raisins in the last but I alway use the M&M's and chocolate chips. These are great frozen too. If you need to feed a large group this is the cookie for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This is the best monster cookie recipe, I tried several but this one is chewy, peanut buttery and moist. My husband is in the AF and he took a batch of these in to his night shift guys during Christmastime, I had to make a double batch days later as they had eaten them all and were demanding more. The oats filled them up and sustained them for their physical job. I made a few changes, I didnt use peanuts or the M&Ms and chocolate chips. Instead I used mini chips and mini M&Ms, I just prefer how they disperse through the cookie. Next time I make them I will try some coconut for extra chewy goodness. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Earl's Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
These were good but I scaled them down quite a bit. I've made monster cookies before, but used to them spreading out more. Used chunky peanut butter & omited the peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
This is the original "classic" recipe for Monster cookies that I grew up on. They turned out great as usual! I did add an extra cup of oats this time. Cooking time in my oven was 15 minutes for moist chewy cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Hensley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I'm rating these for the taste, not their appearance. They are definitely not the prettiest cookie I've ever made, but the taste is perfect. I would probably leave out the peanuts next time, the peanut butter was enough peanut taste for me. I used a cookie scoop instead of forming the batter into balls with my hands, much less messy! I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
These cookies were good - I did have one problem however, the test batch of these were way too runny and I had to add more oats to give the cookie any sort of shape (besides a flat blob). I also substituted peanut butter chips for M&M's because peanut butter chips were a dollar at the store and half as many M&M's were three dollars. The end product, with more oats, was wonderful and will be a big hit this Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
These cookies were delicious and fairly easy to make. I used my handy, dandy cookie dropper instead of rolling them into balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYBRENDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
I have made these a few times and have not reviewed them until now. I usually cut the recipe in half and still have tons of cookies. Quick and easy! I let the KitchenAid do the mixing and these are a breeze. I have made these with butter and also have used butter flavored crisco. I like the texture of the cookies better using the butter flavored crisco, but very good cookies either way. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
These cookies are so yummy! I used chunky peanut butter instead of adding peanuts. Next time I am going to add some toasted slivered almonds. These are one of my new favorite cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigham City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Monster Cookies VI

These cookies are bursting with oats, peanut butter, and whatever else you love!

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States