Monster Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2001
This one's a keeper! I halved the recipe and still had enough to feed a hungry crowd. We've nicknamed these "Peanut Butter Monster Cookies" since that is the defining taste. FYI for shopping purposes: an 18oz jar of peanut butter = just about 1 1/2 cups and an 18oz container of quick oats = about 5 cups. Of course you use double to make a full recipe. Also, a 14oz bag of M&M's will give you 2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
These have to be the ugliest cookies I have ever made if you follow the recipe. They were flat and dark and got hard really fast. However, after the first sheet of them, I decided to add some flour to the mix. This helped a lot--they looked better and stayed soft. The flavor of them is awesome! (I scaled the recipe back to make 24 cookies, and for that amount I used 1/3 cup of flour.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
I have used this recipe doubled! believe it or not.And it is very good.The note I have for this says that it is called Monster Cookies because it makes a monsterous batch.So it has to be mixed in a roasting pan.I made this dough up one year at christmas time and kept it in the freezer to take out as much as I needed for cookie exchanges,potlucks,and christmas parties etc.So I wouldn't have to keep making up cookie recipes and it worked like a charm for that purpose.And the texture and appearance of these cookies baked looks like a New England Jumble cookie.All in all very good cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
Awesome recipe, mine didn't go flat. Mine are good looking cookies, contrary to other reviews. Made the cookies into balls and flattened them only slightly on a parchment-lined cookie sheet. Baked them at 350 for 10 mins and let them finish cooking for 2 more mins on the cookie sheet out of the oven. In my experience using parchment is key to turning out great cookies. They are crunch on the outside and chewy in the centre. Made half a batch and it almost overflowed my kitchenaid mixer. I would not have wanted to try and mix this by hand, it is a very stiff dough. Also used chocolate chips only, no m&ms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I have had this recipe in my collection for years. The only difference is mine calls for 2 tablespoons of maple syrup instead of the 1 1/2 teaspoons of corn syrup. These are chewy and rich and are the cookie I'm asked most for at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
A wonderful cookie recipe!! This is truely THE monster cookie. The recipe is pretty forgiving too. Once I completly forgot the brown sugar and they still tasted okay. I like to use 1/2 rolled oats and 1/2 quick oats, real butter and using JIF peanut butter makes a big difference. You can add whatever you'd like; nuts, different chips, coconut, raisins. But always good with the choco chips and m & m 's yumyumyumyum!! And I forgot to mention that obviously this makes a lot but they do freeze well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
These cookies are fantastic! They are thick, chewy and are perfect with milk. I added butterscotch chips also. I made the cookies big and cooked them for about 14 minutes at 340. Don't over cook them. Some warning though - add the first couple cups of oatmeal to your mixer, and then stir by hand the rest of the oatmeal. I burned up my mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
A very good and very easy to prepare recipe for Monster Cookies! Made these today b/c I was craving all sorts of flavors (I had a taste for PB, oatmeal, chocolate, butterscotch - you get the idea!). The only change I made was to add a little bit of everything I had on hand - butterscotch, semi-sweet, milk and white chocolate chips, M&M's (a couple packages of candies are fine - no need to buy a large bag of baking bits). I was able to clear out a lot of odds and ends in my pantry (hooray!) These are now my "everything but the kitchen sink" "monster" cookies (monster b/c they DO make a MONSTER batch - perfect for bake sales). Used a large cookie scoop (3 T.) to form cookies and baked for 13.5 minutes and they came out uniform in size and chewy. Goes great with a tall glass of cold milk : ) Oh, and these keep well - a little crisp, but easily softened when dipped in liquid. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2007
Just finished eating my test cookie...delicious! I made sure I did a test cookie after reading some of the other reviews. Followed the recipe to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
Very disappointing recipe - I had to toss the whole batch because they were dry and flavorless (unless you count an overwhelming peanut butter taste). I don't understand all the rave reviews. The only thing I did diffently was used baking butter instead of margarine. Maybe that was the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Monster Cookies VI

These cookies are bursting with oats, peanut butter, and whatever else you love!

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter, oats, and chocolate chips create an outrageous treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States