Monkey Peanut Butter Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
I found this recipe to be very very sweet. The cookie bar bottom was wonderful and would taste great by itself. The icing and chocolate together seemed too much and made this treat very sweet. Icing or melted chocolate chips would be enough.... or even just the bar by itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MinxyBaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I made these for Christmas, wanted to try something different. I doubled the recipe and used a jelly roll pan. It was excellent. My husband told me to never make them again since he couldn't stop eating them, when my son-in-law returned home the only thing he wanted to take home were these bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
These bars are great. I did half with the frosting and half without. I would definitely keep the topping. I only used 1/2 the amount of chocolate chips and it was perfect. Will definitely make these bars again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
These are delicious bars that are very quick and easy to make. They are very rich and sweet but sooo good. I too was too impatient to wait for the chocolate to cool before adding the icing. I was able to sort of swirl the peanut butter and chocolate for a marbled effect which I actually really liked. I might try less chocolate chips next time. I'm planning to make these to take to cookouts this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
OK, I made these and they were very good. My family loved them. They weren't a brownie type thing that I was looking for, but they were very good. Changes I made were... I used more peanut butter because i really wnated the peanut butter taste. It didn't help. The oatmeal overpowered the peanut butter. They were good though, just not as peanut buttery as I would have liked. I did use semi-sweet chocolate chips, and omitted the peanut butter frosing as suggested by other people here, because it did seem too sweet for me when I read the recipe. They were very good, but next time I will use milk chocoalte chips instead of semi sweet and I will use the frosting. BTW.... everyone who tried them absolutely loved them. My husband was glad to have something different and he liked them alot also. I will definitely make them again. I will make them again, but make some minor changes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Soucie Belloise

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
Delicious and super easy! As a vegan, I subbed soy milk for the dairy milk, non-hydrogentated margarine for the butter, powdered egg replacer for the egg, and dark chocolate for the semisweet. Even so, it turned out great! The icing stayed soft and creamy, but that was fine by me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2003
This reminds me of the peanut butter bars that we used to have in the cafeteria in school when I was young, and I LOVED when they were serving them!!!!! So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
These bars are awesome. Sure they are really sweet, but that's the point. chocolate and peanut butter-yummmmm. They disappeared. Next time I will try it with milk chocolate chips I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
Excellent! Many compliments by my bunko group. I did double the frosting after reading some reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
I have been looking for a recipe similar to the chocolate peanut butter bars you can find at the Mrs. Fields store. This wasn't what I was looking for, but they were still pretty good. Of course I got a little impatient with the cooling process and spread the peanut butter glaze on while it was still warm. Don't think it hurt it any. I think the crust could have been a little sweeter but the measurments for the chocolate and PB glaze were right on. I love the combination of peanut butter and chocolate, so I wasn't too disappointed with this one. Gonna keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Fudgy Peanut Butter Buttons

See how to turn cocoa mix into fudgy, no-bake peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States