Monkey Peanut Butter Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
These bars are great. I did half with the frosting and half without. I would definitely keep the topping. I only used 1/2 the amount of chocolate chips and it was perfect. Will definitely make these bars again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I made these for Christmas, wanted to try something different. I doubled the recipe and used a jelly roll pan. It was excellent. My husband told me to never make them again since he couldn't stop eating them, when my son-in-law returned home the only thing he wanted to take home were these bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I was very disappointed in this recipe. There was actually too much chocolate, if you can believe that! The strong flavor of the semi-sweet chips totally overpowers the peanut butter. Net time I will use milk chocolate chips and only use half the bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Churchill808

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
These are delicious bars that are very quick and easy to make. They are very rich and sweet but sooo good. I too was too impatient to wait for the chocolate to cool before adding the icing. I was able to sort of swirl the peanut butter and chocolate for a marbled effect which I actually really liked. I might try less chocolate chips next time. I'm planning to make these to take to cookouts this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
OK, I made these and they were very good. My family loved them. They weren't a brownie type thing that I was looking for, but they were very good. Changes I made were... I used more peanut butter because i really wnated the peanut butter taste. It didn't help. The oatmeal overpowered the peanut butter. They were good though, just not as peanut buttery as I would have liked. I did use semi-sweet chocolate chips, and omitted the peanut butter frosing as suggested by other people here, because it did seem too sweet for me when I read the recipe. They were very good, but next time I will use milk chocoalte chips instead of semi sweet and I will use the frosting. BTW.... everyone who tried them absolutely loved them. My husband was glad to have something different and he liked them alot also. I will definitely make them again. I will make them again, but make some minor changes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Soucie Belloise

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
These bars are awesome. Sure they are really sweet, but that's the point. chocolate and peanut butter-yummmmm. They disappeared. Next time I will try it with milk chocolate chips I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I'm only giving this 4 stars because if I had made it as stated it would have been WAAAYYY too sweet. The base was perfect. I added the chocolate chips on top, but skipped the icing. 2 out of my 3 kids asked me to cut the chocolate off b/c it was too sweet, so thank goodness I didn't do the icing -- that would've just been too much. So the crux of my review is this -- the bottom part of this bar is all you need .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AggieFan92

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I looooove peanut butter, so I wanted to try this bar, especially with all the great reviews. I'm so glad I tried them! I used chunky peanut butter, so I took into account the chunks of nuts by adding about an extra 50% to both measurements. I only used about half the amount of chocolate chips (in the interest of keeping healthy! =P), and I melted the peanut butter when I mixed the icing so it would be easier to blend. My 2-year old loves these bars, even the base! Usualy she eats the topping and leaves the base. A great recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
OMG! It was so good! turned out great! I made it for my fiddle group and they all loved it! Great recipe and everyone should try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
Doubled the peanut butter topping and was pretty good, but no one really liked the "cookie" part. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Fudgy Peanut Butter Buttons

See how to turn cocoa mix into fudgy, no-bake peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States