Monkey Peanut Butter Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
YUM - I followed the recipe exactly and these came out perfect. My whole family loved them and they are so easy to make. Flavorful and rich, so a small bar goes a long way. These are a definate favorite and will be made time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OLYBROWNS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Yummy just like the ones we used to eat at school. The only change I made is that I put the peanut butter icing on first before the chocolate chips. I didn't bake it for any additional time and then I melted the chips in a microwave bowl and spread on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BragaBit

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I probably won't make these again because the cookie part came out very hard - not chewy at all. When cutting the cookies tend to break apart. The good part about this recipe is the peanut butter icing - yum! I'll have to try that on other dessert ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Lorenzo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Very good - nice and buttery. I did cut the chocolate chips in half as suggested by other reviewers; all I had on hand was mini chips. Instead of melting into a spreadable mixture, they cooked into hard little crumbles. I think maybe the oven should have been turned off for the final 8 minutes. I added enough milk to the peanut butter frosting so I could pour it over the cookie layer and tilt the dish until the frosting covered the entire surface.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
The frosting and the chocolate layer makes this ALMOST too sweet...but everyone loves it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
These are delicious! However, I reduced the quantity of chocolate chips to 1 cup. Also, I reduced the confec. sugar in the icing to 1/2 a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
absolutly delicious!! very rich, but a huge hit!! great for parties
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
Very, Very YUMMY! Only changes I made was using less chocolate chips and added some into the batter and the rest melted on top. YUM! We all loved them. The peanut butter frosting is a bit on the sweet side, but very good nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Needed to add more milk to mix the icing than what the recipie called for. I really thought 4 cups of powdered sugar was a bit much. The icing would have been better if it wasn't so thick. All & all, the bars were ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This recipe was fast and easy to make. We love anything with peanut butter and chocolate. This is a great tasting cookie-bar. I found that it became very dry and crumbly. The chocolate seperated from the cookie part and made it difficult to eat without a fork. Otherwise it's Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Fudgy Peanut Butter Buttons

See how to turn cocoa mix into fudgy, no-bake peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States