Monkey Peanut Butter Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
YUM - I followed the recipe exactly and these came out perfect. My whole family loved them and they are so easy to make. Flavorful and rich, so a small bar goes a long way. These are a definate favorite and will be made time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OLYBROWNS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Yummy just like the ones we used to eat at school. The only change I made is that I put the peanut butter icing on first before the chocolate chips. I didn't bake it for any additional time and then I melted the chips in a microwave bowl and spread on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BragaBit

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I probably won't make these again because the cookie part came out very hard - not chewy at all. When cutting the cookies tend to break apart. The good part about this recipe is the peanut butter icing - yum! I'll have to try that on other dessert ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Lorenzo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Very good - nice and buttery. I did cut the chocolate chips in half as suggested by other reviewers; all I had on hand was mini chips. Instead of melting into a spreadable mixture, they cooked into hard little crumbles. I think maybe the oven should have been turned off for the final 8 minutes. I added enough milk to the peanut butter frosting so I could pour it over the cookie layer and tilt the dish until the frosting covered the entire surface.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
The frosting and the chocolate layer makes this ALMOST too sweet...but everyone loves it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
These are delicious! However, I reduced the quantity of chocolate chips to 1 cup. Also, I reduced the confec. sugar in the icing to 1/2 a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
absolutly delicious!! very rich, but a huge hit!! great for parties
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
Very, Very YUMMY! Only changes I made was using less chocolate chips and added some into the batter and the rest melted on top. YUM! We all loved them. The peanut butter frosting is a bit on the sweet side, but very good nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Needed to add more milk to mix the icing than what the recipie called for. I really thought 4 cups of powdered sugar was a bit much. The icing would have been better if it wasn't so thick. All & all, the bars were ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This recipe was fast and easy to make. We love anything with peanut butter and chocolate. This is a great tasting cookie-bar. I found that it became very dry and crumbly. The chocolate seperated from the cookie part and made it difficult to eat without a fork. Otherwise it's Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States