Monkey Peanut Butter Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
These are very good and really easy to make. Everyone in my youth group liked them. They are REALLY rich. I was rushed because of time, but even if my measurements weren't as meticulous as normal, it still turned out fantastic. And even though a comment mislead me into thinking that this recipe needed to be doubled in order to fill a 9x13, I realized this was wrong and put the double batch into a lager 10.5x14.75 pan hoping it would help...When I took them out I wasn't sure if they were too thick and under done, but I put almost a full bag of chocolate chips (I should have used more) on and continued baking...I wish, however, I had waited a few minutes longer, because the chocolate chips burnt slightly (although the flavor was not noticeable). Spreading the chocolate chips is tricky. Be careful not to rip the top of the cookie. Oh, also I used quick oats because that was all I had. That did not ruin it at all though. Because of time-constrainets I chilled the chocolate layer and simply let it thaw slightly before serving it (although I actually liked it cold). The frosting was yummy too, I didn't have much on there, but it was good nonetheless and really added a little something special. I should have made a double batch of that to match the larger pan, though only a light layer is needed. I love cooking and I definately want to make this again. Even with my rushed efforts and little technical mistakes, this recipie was still impossible to screw up. Simply Addictive!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ifonlyx33

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I took these to work and they disappeared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, New York, USA
Living In: Raymore, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I made this for my family and noone ate it. stick to cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
very good and versatile. we made a double batch and they made a very thick and gooey chocolate chip peanutty square cookie like treat. You will not be disappointed. Top with a frosting of your choice and be on that sugar high!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Liberty, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
5 stars for flavor-yum! I did not do the layer of chocolate chips, instead, I added the chips into the cookie base(only about 1 cup-my preference). I checked the bars at 17 min & they were already over done.Once cooled,I toppped w/the frosting but had to make an entire 2nd batch of frosting to cover the bars. Would definately be a 5 star recipe w/the correct cooking time & frosting amt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I love peanut butter, so this is a great little treat to make when you get that craving. It turned out great as is. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
These are good but definitely nothing special. Simple flavors for a simple dessert. 2 cups chocolate chips is way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
My bars are cooling right now. The recipe sounds yummy so I decided to try it. An easier way to spread the mix in the pan is spray some oil on your hand and evenly press it. I had a hard time getting my choco. chips to melt. So, I just took them off and put them in the microwave with a little milk. Made it easier to spread. Hopefully it turns out like everyone is raving about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
These rich bars were a hit with coworkers. I subbed PB chips for the chocoloate chips for pure peanut butter bliss. Baked very nicely--producing a buttery, chewy bar. Next time, I will make with the chocolate as specified, as I'm sure they will be even more amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
These were pretty good, but I found the bottom part to be a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States