Monkey Peanut Butter Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by sdot
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
At first I didn't think much of these, thought they were just "okay"...However, I tried them again this evening after the icing had time to set and it was like a different bar! I went from dislike, to love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Simply scrumptious!! If you like peanut butter, you HAVE to give these a shot. I had trouble with the chocolate not melting, but after I drizzled the icing on top, they looked fine. They were definitely as addicting as brownies, maybe more so. I added some flax seeds to the cookie base, just to feel a little better about myself. I'm sure no one noticed. The base is almost reminiscent of a chewy granola bar, but the toppings definitely give it a cookie/candy bar status.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
1. Line your pan with tin foil and spray with butter Pam-then when they're cool lift them out to a cutting board, pull the foil away from sides, and take a large knife to cut them into triangles-no waste, broken bars, or mess. 2. Initially bake for 18 minutes. 3. Return to oven for 2nd bake for 5 minutes. 4. Double the peanut butter frosting recipe for frosting lovers. (Great recipe!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Made these for my daughter's peanut butter loving softball team, and they quickly devoured them. Great recipe. Made just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tizzylizz
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
These where awesome. I was tempted to double the top frosting because it left such a thin layer. But, I didn't and was glad since it seems to be just enough & not overly rich. The bottom is kind of like a soft granola consistancy. The only thing I changed was the baking times. Only baked for about 15 min. with an additional 5 min. after adding the chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I was disappointed, I love peanut butter anything, and I thought the chocolate overpowered the peanut butter flavor! I followed the recipe too a tee, my base was dry. I will try another recipe for peanut butter bars next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Meh. The main detraction for us was the oats. We just didn't care for the texture of biting into something periodically that's semi-firm. I baked for only 18 minutes the first time, then another 5 after adding the chips. By underdoing them, I had no problem with their being dry. They were quite moist and chewy. Frosted it with the gooey boiled topping from the Peanut Butter Sheet Cake from this site, which ramped up the peanut butter flavor a few degrees. Very chewy and gooey that way, and they were gone in a flash. Others seemed to like them more than I did. Feedback I got said mostly that it was because of the Sheet Cake Frosting recipe I used. A respectable bar, good, but nothing exciting that I'd rush to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Photo by aleja
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Very good recipe. The taste is very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aleja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This is definitely 5 stars all the way! After reading a few of the reviews about a dry crust I underbaked the crust by 2-3 minutes before putting on the chocolate chips (I used milk chocolate) and only baked it for 5 minutes before removing it from the oven. This resulted in a delicious soft yet chewy crust (after it has sat in the fridge of course) I loved the addition of oats to this bar and I sprinkled the top with chocolate jimmies - just for it to look pretty. This is a wonderful bar, I loved it and will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Fudgy Peanut Butter Buttons

See how to turn cocoa mix into fudgy, no-bake peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States