Monkey Peanut Butter Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
the crust of these came out very dry. not a favorite of mine, but my kids do like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Yummy and rich! Idk why pictures have m&m's..Didn't use them. Used 1/2 C pbutter, added chips too batter 1 C. White 1 C. semi sweet. baked 17 min. pulled out dropped by Tbs. 1/4 cup pbutter and 1/2 c. chips on top. Put back in oven 2 minutes. Spread easily and LOVED them! Crust is dry but I liked it! FYI~ Chips aren't going to just melt and spread by themselves. When glossy take out and spread with spoon very easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy huber

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I made these for a family picnic and they were a hit. Very rich and extremely sweet, so if you have a major sweet tooth, this is an absolute treat! I had a couple requests for the recipe too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Newton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly and it was just okay. The base was really dry and crumbly - it would have been nearly inedible without the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SteelMagnolia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Excellent dessert! It was a hit with the whole family wanting seconds. I did not add the pb icing...was trying to save on calories. It was delicious even without the icing. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I made the bars according to recipe, and didn't like how they turned out. I thought the icing was was too much. So I made my own version...I kept the crust as is, and instead of the icing I sprinkled 1/2 c. coconut, 1/3 c. chopped walnuts, 1/4c. semi-sweet choc. chips, and then I melted 2 tabl. peanut butter, with 4 tabl. semi-sweet choc chips and drizzled it on top (to help hold the other toppings on) I placed it in the frig for 1 hour, and served! Yummmy! Thanks for the inspiration!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy bakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
these are great! I used 1 cup of chocolate chips and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
These were nice and sweet. The bottom was a little crunchier than I was expecting. I topped with chocolate sprinkles. Would've also been good with mini M&M's on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
goodness itself! used milk chocolate and the kids gobbled everything up, oats and all:-) I think I'll put some whole wheat flour in next time, just to make sure it's healthier, as I've seen you don't notice. I agree that spreading the chocolate is nearly impossible, and the risk of braeking the fragile crust of the bars is very high. I gave up in the end but the result didn't suffer for it, in my opinion. Last but not least: it looks undercooked when you take it out of the oven after the stated time, but do not give in to the temptation to leave it longer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Wow! Recipe as-is, is way too sweet - even the kids thought so. And we love our sweet baked goods. Not sure I'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States