Monkey Peanut Butter Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
the crust of these came out very dry. not a favorite of mine, but my kids do like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Yummy and rich! Idk why pictures have m&m's..Didn't use them. Used 1/2 C pbutter, added chips too batter 1 C. White 1 C. semi sweet. baked 17 min. pulled out dropped by Tbs. 1/4 cup pbutter and 1/2 c. chips on top. Put back in oven 2 minutes. Spread easily and LOVED them! Crust is dry but I liked it! FYI~ Chips aren't going to just melt and spread by themselves. When glossy take out and spread with spoon very easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy huber

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I made these for a family picnic and they were a hit. Very rich and extremely sweet, so if you have a major sweet tooth, this is an absolute treat! I had a couple requests for the recipe too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Newton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly and it was just okay. The base was really dry and crumbly - it would have been nearly inedible without the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SteelMagnolia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Excellent dessert! It was a hit with the whole family wanting seconds. I did not add the pb icing...was trying to save on calories. It was delicious even without the icing. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I made the bars according to recipe, and didn't like how they turned out. I thought the icing was was too much. So I made my own version...I kept the crust as is, and instead of the icing I sprinkled 1/2 c. coconut, 1/3 c. chopped walnuts, 1/4c. semi-sweet choc. chips, and then I melted 2 tabl. peanut butter, with 4 tabl. semi-sweet choc chips and drizzled it on top (to help hold the other toppings on) I placed it in the frig for 1 hour, and served! Yummmy! Thanks for the inspiration!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy bakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
these are great! I used 1 cup of chocolate chips and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
These were nice and sweet. The bottom was a little crunchier than I was expecting. I topped with chocolate sprinkles. Would've also been good with mini M&M's on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
goodness itself! used milk chocolate and the kids gobbled everything up, oats and all:-) I think I'll put some whole wheat flour in next time, just to make sure it's healthier, as I've seen you don't notice. I agree that spreading the chocolate is nearly impossible, and the risk of braeking the fragile crust of the bars is very high. I gave up in the end but the result didn't suffer for it, in my opinion. Last but not least: it looks undercooked when you take it out of the oven after the stated time, but do not give in to the temptation to leave it longer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Wow! Recipe as-is, is way too sweet - even the kids thought so. And we love our sweet baked goods. Not sure I'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Fudgy Peanut Butter Buttons

See how to turn cocoa mix into fudgy, no-bake peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States