Monkey Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
When I first made up this recipe and served it, my son called it monkey meat because it was made with beef which shredded into strings. We've always thought of monkeys as stringy animals, and so the name stuck. I hope this doesn't turn anyone off on trying this recipe. It is kind of labor intensive at first, but the results are really and truly scrumptious!!! Also, you can use a different roast - i've used shoulder clod roast, and chuck roast with delicious results. Whatever's on sale at your butchers!!! You can also substitute the peppers to whatever you can find at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I starting looking for tri-tip recipes that didn't involve the grill and this recipe sounded interesting. My family loves Mexican food but are not fans of spicy, so I opted to omit the red chili pepper; and only used 1 jalapeno & 1 anaheim pepper (both seeded). I also substituted the poblano with 1 tomatillo and the rest of the ingredients were followed exactly. It had enough flavor for my family (especially since I have 2 small ones) I seared the meat and sauteed the vegetables then placed them in the slow cooker with the beef broth and cooked it for several hours. This made enough food for my family of 5 to have 3 separate meals from it. Tacos the 1st night, breakfast burritos with scrambled eggs the next morning, and then shredded beef burritos another night. Received rave reviews from everyone that tried it. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
Well, while the preparation for this recipe is indeed very labor intensive (so much chopping!), the recipe turned out very yummy. These are my modifications: I omitted the celery and carrot, I couldn't find all of the different peppers required, and wound up having to use jalepeno and banana peppers, both with seeds. Because of the lack of heat, I also tossed in a teaspoon of red pepper. Also, two large onions seemed entirely too much for the dish (that, and both my fiance and myself are not huge fans of onions)-- I wound up only using about 2/3rds of a large Texas Super Sweet. I cooked this in a slow cooker for about 4 hours on high. I would, in the future, cook this on low probably all day so the meat would be more tender, although it was still good. One last thing: I added a double shot of tequila to the mixture, although I really couldn't taste it. Perhaps next time I will marinate the meat in tequila, along with the spice rub, overnight to liven things up. In all, it was very good with an excellent combination of flavors-- I will make this dish again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarkerSolace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tullahoma, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This was very good. Read all reviews and was surprised at how many do not use chili in fear of food being to hot. If you buy mild chili it will take on the flavor of chili with out the heat and that is a flavor all should experiance. I buy about 10 to 15 pound of Hatch Chili every year seperate it and freeze. i use all year long. However I never combind several chilies like Pobalno and Jalapenos and only cook 20 min. If you don't like heat make sure all seeds are removed then you get flavor not heat. I think most important step is to Sear meat and sauted all veggies before the mix. After I mixed it I put in Crock Pot becaus I don't like to stand over the stove making sure nothing burns.. This was good amazing thing is you can substitue the meat for all cuts like Chicken, Pork even ground beef. It will all turn out. Mostly don't be afraid of heat get mild and it all works out. When making a stew or soup I use a cup to two cups in my dishes. It really add a flavor that can not be duplicated. Next time I am going to try adding chipotle chili in adobo sauce just a teaspoon to table spoon the rest of the can I will seperate and freeze in a baggies for other uses....I really think it would take this reciepe up a level or two. Guess I will try it again and let you know. ValerieRoman9@aol.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I was looking for a recipe to use up about 1lb of tri-tip that I had left over from a barbeque. It had been marinated in tamari, coarse mustard and fresh rosemary, then grilled. I came across this recipe, scaled it down for 4 servings. The changes I made-obviously didn't sear the meat, didn't add the red chili (personal taste)and probably used about 1 can of beef stock but followed the recipe after that. Served it with white rice, homemade guacamole, sour cream and cheese with wheat tortillas. It was fantastic!! My boyfriend ate so much, he barely left enough for MY lunch today!! The meat shredded beautifully and was very flavorful! A little spicey-but when paired with sour cream and guac, it cooled down very nicely. I will be using this for all my left over tri-tip! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Wow my whole family LOVES Monkey Meat! I made the recipe EXACTLY as stated and it turned out wonderful! Everyone in my family LOVED this meat, my four kids, husband, myself, and my step daughter! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
A funny name for such a yummy dinner! You can cut down the prep time by using a large chopper. I only used one of annaheim, one of the poblano, one can of jalapenos and 7 dried chilis. The spice is nice as it adds flavor but doesn't overwhelm the dish as just hot. I used a sirloin steak as it is what we had on hand. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
Takes a little prep, but well worth it. The final result is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This is the third time I have made this. It is the best mexican style shredded beef recipe I have found. Very similar to my fav restaurant. I never have the exact ingredients on hand but just sub something similar. Always turns out great. I use it for tacos, burritos and nachos. Freezes well too. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiwismom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
great for tacos even better as machaca with an egg scrambled in!!! I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States