Monkey Bread with a Twist Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This was REALLY good. Would be great for a brunch or Christmas breakfast. My only suggestion would be after about 15 mins in oven you might should cover with aluminum foil to prevent the edges from overcooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Perfect! We love this cinnamony apple goodness for a weekend breakfast! The apples are a great addition to monkey bread. I also like to add chopped walnuts or pecans. Since it's just the two of us, I halve the recipe and bake in an 8x8 square pan and that works out great! Thank you for the yummy recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Yummy! I used 2 apples (Braeburn and Granny Smith), butter because I was out of margarine, but followed the rest of the recipe as written. I don't have a smooth tube pan, so I sprayed my fluted bundt cake pan with butter flavored Pam and it turned out very pretty. This was so incredibly tasty! I did follow two other reviews and laid a sheet of foil over the top after 15 minutes of baking to prevent hardening and I placed a large foil covered cookie sheet underneath to prevent a mess on my oven floor if it bubbled over (which it did just a tad bit). Next time I will use 3 apples and margarine, but I'm sure it will be just as fantastic as it was this morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
OUTSTANDING! The only change I made to this recipe was that I only used 2 apples. The next time I make this recipe, I will only use 1/2 cup of white sugar with 2 TBSP of cinnamon as I had a lot of waste, but I really like the cinnamon flavor. This is a Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
this is the basis for any future recipe of monkey bread, but i made this to the tee (cept made my own biscuits, cuz i didn't have any premade) and it was quite too sweet. i loved the idea of apples, but next time i will add a LOT more apples. also, please clarify next time NOT to coat apples with the cinamon/sugar mix. because, at first i thought you were not supposed to, then i wound up with WAY too much of the mixture, so i was like, "well, maybe they wanted you to coat them too..?" so i made two seperate things, one with coated apples one with the apples NOT coated. one with them coated was WWAAAAAAYYY too sweet. so future reference to ANYONE: do NOT coat the apples in sugar/cinamon!! otherwise, i loved the apples. next time, probly will double or triple apple amount and leave everything else alone. also, i think it was a complete waSTE to make that much sugar cinamon, if you barely even use HALF of it!!?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitneyriot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Yummy,easy,fun to make with the kiddos. I used 1/2 cup of sugar and a little over 2 tsp of cinnamon. Which was plenty to coat the biscuits. No need to use a whole cup. This was there was no waste. I only had 2 apples on hand and that was fine. I also took a tip from other reviewers and covered it with foil while baking. We made these Christmas morning! And my house smells wonderful. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEESA2YOU

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This was delicious! A huge hit with the party I brought it to - lots of people asking for the recipe. Be careful not to stack the biscuits too high - the middles ones had a little trouble cooking, but it turned out great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
a very interesting taste apple and cinnimen were classic flavors and it all worked well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
This had very good flavor. Make sure to put something under it so you don't make a mess out of your oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
My husband loves regular monkey bread, i love apples, so we decided to give this a try. I thought it was pretty good, but my husband didn't much care for it. I did cheat and use Musselman's chunky applesauce, and it worked great and I only had to cook for the regular amount of time (20 min). I also added about 1/2 c chopped walnuts, and we both agreed that this was a much needed and positive change to regular monkey bread as well. If you make this for 3, like I do, I use 1 can of biscuits and a loaf pan. I also usually cut up the biscuits into small pieces with kitchen shears, then coat with cinnamon and sugar and stir, followed by only 1/4 c of brown sugar and top with the 1/2 c melted butter and a little extra sugar. This makes it crisper than boiling the butter and brown sugar, if you prefer it that way. My biscuits said to cook at 400 for 15-20 min. It was a nice change from the regular, but I will stick to the plain recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States