Monkey Bread with a Twist Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Awesome recipe! Great recipe to make with your kids. Not only do my girls love shaking the bag, this is like their favorite breakfast. The apples really make the recipe. Try pumpkin pie spice instead of cinnamon for something just a little bit different. This is really a hit at our house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I made recipe as directed and it was amazing! The second time I made it, I threw in some raisins and my tastebuds exploded with excitement! Great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
We love Monkey Bread - I've made this again and again for years now and it's just superb. My daughter's band and classmates always ask for it! Not to mention the neighbor when they find out I've made it. Never any left overs. If you don't have refrigerator biscuits and dont want to go to the store, use baking mix, follow the insructions for biscuits and just pull off pieces of the dough - and proceed as usual. You can also use other fruits - and berries although if you do, brown sugar doesnt necessarily go with some fruit and berries, but white sugar always does - also, try adding a bit of vanilla to your liquid when mixing the dough (if using baking mix) or to the melted margarine (we use butter though) another thing I thought I'd mentin is that the cinnamon sugar does seem to be more than needed, but in my house, it goes into it's own little container and we use the leftovers for toast, or oatmeal or even the next monkey bread :) Wonderful recipe and versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
this is the basis for any future recipe of monkey bread, but i made this to the tee (cept made my own biscuits, cuz i didn't have any premade) and it was quite too sweet. i loved the idea of apples, but next time i will add a LOT more apples. also, please clarify next time NOT to coat apples with the cinamon/sugar mix. because, at first i thought you were not supposed to, then i wound up with WAY too much of the mixture, so i was like, "well, maybe they wanted you to coat them too..?" so i made two seperate things, one with coated apples one with the apples NOT coated. one with them coated was WWAAAAAAYYY too sweet. so future reference to ANYONE: do NOT coat the apples in sugar/cinamon!! otherwise, i loved the apples. next time, probly will double or triple apple amount and leave everything else alone. also, i think it was a complete waSTE to make that much sugar cinamon, if you barely even use HALF of it!!?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitneyriot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I added this to a brunch buffet, specifically for the kids, but it was popular with everyone. I would recommend cutting down on the sugar/cinnamon mixture as it makes more than necessary, otherwise change nothing. I took the hint from another reviewer and covered loosely with foil near the end of baking. A great addition would be chopped walnuts or pecans if allergies aren't a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This was AWESOME - have made it 3 times in the past week! I cut up my apples (right off my tree) and put them in the sauce, which gave them a chance to cook a little before baking. I also put my monkey bread in a jelly roll pan, baked the same amount of time, covered them for the last half of the time and everything turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This was the best monkey bread I have ever had. Very moist and full of flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Effingham, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
We've tried many different monkey bread recipes and this one is a keeper! I know what I'm making when the kids come home from college! The apples really make this special and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Katya

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
delicious, I only used one apple, and it was still great. I had one extra can of biscuits so I experimented with the leftover cin/sugar mixture. I made just like the recipe but used maraschino cherries halved and also poured a little juice into mixture..very tasty. Will use this recipe again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christy sitek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sellersville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
loved this with the fruit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States