Monkey Bread with a Twist Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Very good, the apples were a nice addition! Maybe next time I will try peaches ! Thanks for the idea of switching the recipe up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I have never seen refrigerated biscuits here in Aust. So I have to make the dough from scratch following the rest of the recipe and it is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rubee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Overall this was very good there was a problem with the edges being over done and the center being underdone but other than that it was very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
This was so very tasty. You can really play around with the ingredients (to taste). My family loved it. Super easy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Awesome recipe! Great recipe to make with your kids. Not only do my girls love shaking the bag, this is like their favorite breakfast. The apples really make the recipe. Try pumpkin pie spice instead of cinnamon for something just a little bit different. This is really a hit at our house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I made recipe as directed and it was amazing! The second time I made it, I threw in some raisins and my tastebuds exploded with excitement! Great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
We love Monkey Bread - I've made this again and again for years now and it's just superb. My daughter's band and classmates always ask for it! Not to mention the neighbor when they find out I've made it. Never any left overs. If you don't have refrigerator biscuits and dont want to go to the store, use baking mix, follow the insructions for biscuits and just pull off pieces of the dough - and proceed as usual. You can also use other fruits - and berries although if you do, brown sugar doesnt necessarily go with some fruit and berries, but white sugar always does - also, try adding a bit of vanilla to your liquid when mixing the dough (if using baking mix) or to the melted margarine (we use butter though) another thing I thought I'd mentin is that the cinnamon sugar does seem to be more than needed, but in my house, it goes into it's own little container and we use the leftovers for toast, or oatmeal or even the next monkey bread :) Wonderful recipe and versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
this is the basis for any future recipe of monkey bread, but i made this to the tee (cept made my own biscuits, cuz i didn't have any premade) and it was quite too sweet. i loved the idea of apples, but next time i will add a LOT more apples. also, please clarify next time NOT to coat apples with the cinamon/sugar mix. because, at first i thought you were not supposed to, then i wound up with WAY too much of the mixture, so i was like, "well, maybe they wanted you to coat them too..?" so i made two seperate things, one with coated apples one with the apples NOT coated. one with them coated was WWAAAAAAYYY too sweet. so future reference to ANYONE: do NOT coat the apples in sugar/cinamon!! otherwise, i loved the apples. next time, probly will double or triple apple amount and leave everything else alone. also, i think it was a complete waSTE to make that much sugar cinamon, if you barely even use HALF of it!!?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitneyriot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I added this to a brunch buffet, specifically for the kids, but it was popular with everyone. I would recommend cutting down on the sugar/cinnamon mixture as it makes more than necessary, otherwise change nothing. I took the hint from another reviewer and covered loosely with foil near the end of baking. A great addition would be chopped walnuts or pecans if allergies aren't a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This was AWESOME - have made it 3 times in the past week! I cut up my apples (right off my tree) and put them in the sauce, which gave them a chance to cook a little before baking. I also put my monkey bread in a jelly roll pan, baked the same amount of time, covered them for the last half of the time and everything turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States