Monkey Bread with a Twist Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by alyssatuchel
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I baked the apples before I added the biscuits just to make sure they would be soft enough. I tosses them with alittle cinnamon and sugar and a small amount of apple juice. Baked at 350 for 10 min. Then I followed the recipe listed above. I had to take my loaf out 3 min before 35 min... Because my biscuits rose too much, the apples and sugar poured out of my pan and burned at the bottom of the oven! Atleast I know the smoke alarm is still working! Lol. Overall, great addition to our Easter brunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
By the time I chopped the apples and nuts, cut the biscuits and then shook them, and then arranged by layers, I had spent close to 45 mins. When I tipped onto the plate, the bottom was raw. So I put back in and cooked another 15 mins, but was still raw, so added another 15 mins. It is still raw throughout so I'm done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephen Foister
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
tried this recipe with my girlfriend it was awesome and great hit did it just like some people reviewed if you want us recipe that's quick and easy and great for the holidays try this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephen Foister

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I don't have a bundt pan, and it's only my husband and I eating it, so I shrunk the recipe down a bit, using two cans of biscuits and halving all the other ingredients. I baked it all in a loaf pan and it turned out heavenly. It's very rich and sweet, but that is exactly what I was going for when I decided to make monkey bread. The tartness of the apples is a great addition. It didn't cook all the way through in the middle, but that is probably because my loaf pan was full to the top. Even the undercooked part is super tasty (plus, it probably would've cooked through if I'd only used 1.5 cans of biscuits). I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Turtle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This was so scrumptious! The entire family loved it. I did use unsalted butter instead of margarine and it turned out great. I also covered with foil after 15 minutes. Tastes even better with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
family loved the "twist" with the apples. This will be my go to recipe for monkey bread from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Venosh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This was delicious! Everyone seemed to love it, even though I should have baked it for longer than the 35 minutes as stated. Will make again. Next time, leave room at the top of the pan as it rose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Great Results! I used fresh store bought pizza dough balls (I already had 2 on hand) instead of canned biscuits. I did not have apples but I did add a half cup chopped pecans and a teaspoon of vanilla flavoring to the syrup mixture AFTER IT COOLED. So delicious. I will be making this for the SuperBowl party :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Davelyn Fowler Mason
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I had one small granny smith apple (lunch box size) and I chopped it up to add after I had added the biscuits into the bundt pan. Loved it!! I did 3/4 of the butter and 3/4 of the brown sugar instead of it all. It worked perfectly. For Fall, I added some nutmeg and cloves to the cinnamon/sugar mix and it was a wonderful flavor addition! I read to cover with aluminum foil and that definitely was a wonderful suggestion! Already ready to make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
this was a huge hit. i was a little leery of using apples since we have always loved our monkey bread plain .. but it was a great touch. will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States