Monkey Bread with a Twist Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I don't have a bundt pan, and it's only my husband and I eating it, so I shrunk the recipe down a bit, using two cans of biscuits and halving all the other ingredients. I baked it all in a loaf pan and it turned out heavenly. It's very rich and sweet, but that is exactly what I was going for when I decided to make monkey bread. The tartness of the apples is a great addition. It didn't cook all the way through in the middle, but that is probably because my loaf pan was full to the top. Even the undercooked part is super tasty (plus, it probably would've cooked through if I'd only used 1.5 cans of biscuits). I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Turtle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This was so scrumptious! The entire family loved it. I did use unsalted butter instead of margarine and it turned out great. I also covered with foil after 15 minutes. Tastes even better with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
family loved the "twist" with the apples. This will be my go to recipe for monkey bread from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Venosh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This was delicious! Everyone seemed to love it, even though I should have baked it for longer than the 35 minutes as stated. Will make again. Next time, leave room at the top of the pan as it rose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Great Results! I used fresh store bought pizza dough balls (I already had 2 on hand) instead of canned biscuits. I did not have apples but I did add a half cup chopped pecans and a teaspoon of vanilla flavoring to the syrup mixture AFTER IT COOLED. So delicious. I will be making this for the SuperBowl party :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TexasMom
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I had one small granny smith apple (lunch box size) and I chopped it up to add after I had added the biscuits into the bundt pan. Loved it!! I did 3/4 of the butter and 3/4 of the brown sugar instead of it all. It worked perfectly. For Fall, I added some nutmeg and cloves to the cinnamon/sugar mix and it was a wonderful flavor addition! I read to cover with aluminum foil and that definitely was a wonderful suggestion! Already ready to make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexasMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
this was a huge hit. i was a little leery of using apples since we have always loved our monkey bread plain .. but it was a great touch. will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
I love this recipe!! I end up making it for everyone's birthdays, its soo much better than cake. I add walnuts and pecans and drizzle a cream cheese icing on it and its amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Very delicious recipe. My whole family loved it. I served it with sliced bananas on top and a scoop of vanilla ice cream. So yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Very good, the apples were a nice addition! Maybe next time I will try peaches ! Thanks for the idea of switching the recipe up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States