Monkey Bread Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I didn't have biscuits in the fridge so I used the biscuit recipe off a bisquick box (bisquick, milk). Instead of dividing the dough into muffin pans I just spread it out into a big oval on a foil lined, greased cookie sheet, threw in a can of fried apples (drained), sprinkled in some of the apple pie/sugar mix, folded it over & topped with the apple p/sugar mix, brn sug sauce & chopped pecans. This mess didn't last 10 minutes :-) I was temporarily stumped when most of the brown sug sauce ran off & started to burn; I just flipped it onto a plate after it cooled & the burnt sauce broke off like thin peanut brittle when I peeled off the foil. Next time I'll use a hard pie pan to keep all that gooey goodness in but this was still a hit! My version was a fast, cheap, delicious apple cobbler of sorts that's a definite keeper. Great base recipe to experiment with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kalainas2003
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Excellent! I doubled the recipe and followed other's advice and baked them at 350 for about 12 minutes. I sprayed the pan and they came out easily. I made my own "apple pie spice" like other reviewers suggested. I also added thin slices of apples amongst the layers and that was a fun addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Used cinnamon instead of apple pie spice. Love monkey bread...this was a great twist on that with the individual servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Murphy5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
These are soooo delicious! I made these for a co-worker's going away lunch. You can't even tell they're made from biscuit dough! I got 21 muffins from 2 16 oz containers of biscuits. I, too, added a bit of fresh grated nutmeg because I didn't have apple pie spice or cardomon to make the spice. Smells fabulous! I did layer in between the biscuit pieces just shy of a tablespoon of chopped apple. Will definitely make these again.-Kathy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I made these in foil cupcake liners based on other reviews that the sauce pools at the bottom. That was an understatement. The sauce bubbled up and was all over my cupcake pan and under the liners making a huge mess. I would probably half the sauce if I made these again since so little of it actually stayed on the monkey bread. That is my major complaint otherwise 3 out of 4 of my kids and my husband gobbled these up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Absolutely delicious. I used 2 cans of refridgerated crescent "biscuits". They are shaped like biscuits instead of the crescent triangles and I cut each into 4 pieces. I put about 6 pieces into each muffin cup. I used splenda/brown sugar mix (just 1/4 cup is equal to 1/2 cup standard brown sugar) and poured a bit of my leftover sugar mixture in. I also used someone else's mix for apple pie spice from another review. Made 10 full size muffin cups. If I were to make again, I might only put 4-5 pieces in each cup and make 12 cups total. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
BEST thing I have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I love muffins and try every recipes I find These were Very Yummy Muffins ... ONE EDIT TO THE RECIPE: When baking put a cookie sheet underneath to catch the drippings. I now have a smokey kitchen due to burnt sauce at the bottom of the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAKilpatrick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This is so simple and so good. I did have way too much of the sugar/spice mixture as well as the brown sugar sauce. However, it may be because the roll of biscuits I got was smaller (????). I will buy two tubes next time... can't complain about having too many of these on hand. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Sue Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Okay so this is a grand idea. I changed it up a bit by using refrigerated crescent dough and did not put the dough into muffin cups. I just rolled the dough in the apple pie spice and sugar mixture then poured the brown sugar/butter mixture on top of the rolls. These turned out fun! I'm not sure it is really Monkey Bread but the flavor was good and it is a fun twist to using the refrigerated dough. A small bonus, since I poured all the butter/sugar on the dough, I wound up with a puddle in the pan which after cooked, became a kind of stiff caramel which was quite tasty. Fun to make and fun to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States