Monkey Bread Kabobs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I am the submitter of this recipe and I want to clarify that you cover the cooling racks with parchment paper not the kabobs. Also, feel free to add your favorite fruit. I only had cherries available the night my granddaughter and I put this recipe together. Thank you to all who try it and I hope you have as much fun with it as we did. By the way, I gave her a pizza wheel to use for cutting the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I followed the recipe exact only leaving off the marachino cherries only because I did not have any. I did my best to scale this down using ONE can of whomp biscuits--it was easier to scale back than I thought it would be. This recipe was simple to follow and the outcome was fantastic--my husband thought this was just as great as the kids did! NO leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
My son is 4 and he not only loved helping me make these (shaking the bag and putting the pieces on the skewers) but he absolutely loved eating them! Love this twist on a classic my mother made for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fishkill, New York, USA
Living In: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I made these before they were 'Kitchen Approved', and MANY times since...Here's what I had to say: ABSOLUTELY GENIUS!!!!! As soon as I saw these, I just knew I had to make them immediately. I cut the recipe down to use just 1 can of bicuits (that's all I had), and I used soaked wooden skewers instead of the brownie pop sticks. I guess my biscuits were the kind that puff up, because you can't reallt see my cherry in the middle, but it makes for a nice surprise inside. :) These were not only fun to make (me and Gabe had a blast), but they were DELICIOUS! Thanks, SHORECOOK, for another winning recipe that I will be making often! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
These were such a delightful little treat to make with my children following our blizzard here in CT. To quote my 6 yr old daughter "They were better than fantastic!" Followed the recipe as written, (with the exception of cherries..didn't have any on hand)and they were enjoyed by all. Will definitely be making again. Thank you SHORECOOK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Normally, I do not have canned biscuits on hand so I finally remembered to buy them. I had fun supervising the making of these with the GK’s. This would definitely make a good rainy day, stuck inside baking project with little ones. As a word of caution: I am so glad that I had lined the baking pan with parchment paper because when the kabobs started baking the butter, sugar and cinnamon mixture ran all over the pan but with the parchment, cleanup was a breeze. Thanks for sharing your cute recipe idea, SHORECOOK. This was the AR Buzz Recipe Group selection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Saturday morning breakfast couldn't have been more fun! My 5 y/o granddaughter absolutely LOVED making these! From cutting the biscuits with the pizza cutter, the dipping (and licking) and skewering, and last but not least - eating - these yummy little treats! We added fresh pineapple chunks - YUM-YUM! Thanks for the great recipe idea, SHORECOOK!! PS - This would be a great recipe for slumber parties, girl scout troops, etc!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Photo by gammaray (=
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
For Recipe Group (= This was the big hit at our potluck! I used large buttery biscuits, and Truvia and Splenda baking mixes for the sugars. I used four biscuit quarters, alternated with three Fuji apple chunks, and bookended with the maraschino cherries, per kabob. I wanted to serve it with caramel sauce for dipping, but forgot to grab it as I was running out the door. Honestly, it did not need the sauce. Update, 7/31/14 - guess what we had for my birthday breakfast?! We used apples, again, and this time added chunks of fully cooked chicken smoked sausage - yum! Four thumbs up from manchild and fdil =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gammaray (=

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Great recipe I made these for a cookout with lots of teens and lots of other food options and these went quick ! Thanks for and easy recipe! One thing I should note I did use parchment. I think if you try to change that part it could be a sticky mess ! Follow that part! I used 2 biscuits/pineapple/2 biscuits/cherry/2 biscuits. When turning use the neighboring kabob to flip them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by duboo
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Great recipe ShoreCook! Instead of the cherries, I used maple sausage. I had fully cooked the sausage first and did the kabobs on a gas grill using a grilling mat. That worked fantastic. I won't lie, the whole procedure is a bit tedious and messy, but the end result is definitely worth it. When everyone finally found their way out of the campers, they were greeted with this. They loved it and asked me to do it again, and I will, but with help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Sensational Sirloin Kabobs

Sirloin steak cubes marinated in a soy-based sauce and grilled with vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States