Monkey Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
very good. Just like I remember it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Delicious, reminded me of when I was a child.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Gamble

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
i thought this recipe was pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetisexy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I've made other versions of Monkey Bread and this didn't work out so well for me. I used butter instead of margarine and the melted butter/white sugar mixture didn't filter through the pieces while baking like other recipes have. It left me with a chunk of butter/sugar candy on the top (which is the bottom when removed from the pan) which was tasty, but wasn't the desired result. I also used raisins instead of pecans. Overall this is a great "simple" treat, but not the best version I've tried. I've used a brown sugar version that I'll go back too if I can find it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
While I agree this recepie is easy yo make & it does taste great, the only problem I found was by pouring the butter/sugar mixture on before cooking, once its cooked & you invert the pan, all the carmalized suger ends up on the bottom. Maybe next time I will drizzle it between each layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
We are stuck at home due to flooding today and I decided to try something different for my fickle 3 yr old. Usually if I let him help cook, he will at least try it so I let him help make this easy recipe. And he is still gobbling it down as I type this, so I would call this one a great success! :) I did cut the recipe down for just one can of biscuits since it is just the two of us and I used walnuts instead of pecans. I also just a teaspoon of nutmeg but otherwise, I followed the recipe to the letter and it was wonderful! Definitely a new family favorite and we will be having again and again I am sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denice

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I must admit that my overall optimism was high while putting this together to bake. I was pretty excited! However, once I baked the bread, and turned it out onto to a platter... well. It was pretty to look at, but the butter crystalized the sugar while cooking, so the top and sides were a crunchy, sticky mess, and not in a good way! The flavor was OKAY, but it certainly could use a little more zip, or pep, because it was a rather bland tasting sweet bread. I wouldn't recommend this. The idea was good, but the bread was a fail. :( Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by latenitetacos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shawnee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly28

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
OMG! Absolutely delicious. I was in the mood for a little something different so I used 3/4 cup of brown sugar & 3/4 cup of white sugar instead of all white sugar, and added just a dash or so of cocoa powder in with sugar and cinnamon. I also sprinkled just a handful of chocolate chips on top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Singer, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States