Monkey Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
I brought this to a friend's birthday, and everyone loved it! This is a wonderful recipe, but here are some suggestions for those of you who don't have a bread machine (like me) and would still like to make it. First let the yeast proof in the water (make sure the water is warm, not hot or room temperature) and two tablespoons of the white sugar for about five minutes. Meanwhile mix together all of the dry ingredients. Stir it all together and let it rise until about double in size (took me about 45 min) and punch it down. You can then follow the recipe as usual, beginning with step 2. Also, I had lots of the brown sugar sauce left over, so I would suggest cutting it down if you don't want to throw it all away. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
This dish was outstanding. After forming the balls, (I made them about the size of very large grapes), I dipped them in 1/2 lb. melted butter, then rolled them in finely chopped walnuts and then in dark brown sugar, then stacked them in a bundt pan. I then sprinkled the remaining sugar and nuts on top, and poured the rest of the butter over all. This seemed to coat each one better and made each piece come off the whole cake as one individual morsel. My family of 4 polished it off in about 6 hours of nibbling. This would be great to take to a potluck. Auntie T from Cleveland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
Honestly, I never knew what "Monkey Bread" was. But now that my curiosity was piqued, I decided to look at several recipes on this site but over all, they all use store bought refrigerator biscuits which doesn't appeal to me in the least. I almost gave up, then I found this made from scratch recipe and I'm glad I tried it. It's always a good thing to read the reviews and adapt the recipe to your liking;- however, I made very few changes. For the record, I added a dash of grated fresh nutmeg to the dough, 1 cup of walnuts, and 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract to the butter/sugar mixture AFTER removing it from the stove. One important tip when inverting the pan onto a plate is to be sure to place a cookie sheet under the pan to catch all the gooey sugar mixture or you'll have yourself quite a mess to clean up. Then because I avoided a kitchen disaster, I simply spooned the reserve sugar syrup that dripped onto the cookie sheet over the baked bread. Using my bread machine was a tremendous help and timesaver, too. Next time I might try using apple cider or juice instead of the water in the dough. This is divine with a cup of black tea or a cappucino. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
This is an excellent recipe!! My family LOVES it! I add chopped up pieces of apple sometimes or chopped pieces of pineapple in between the layers of the raw dough. Then let it rise. Gives it a different flavor!! The pineapple gives it an Upside Down Pineapple Cake flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NET10
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
OMG perfection. I did do one change. Instead of dipping the balls of dough into the butter and rolling in sugar I melted the one cup of margarine, 1 cup br. sugar and 1 tsp of cinnamon in a saucepan over medium heat until all the sugar was dissolved. I pour approx 1/3 c into the bottom of my greased bundt pan, added a layer of balls, poured another 1/3 c of sauce, rest of balls, and poured the remaining sauce over everything making sure the top layer of dough balls were coated. covered with plastic wrap and let rise until doubled. after baking for 25 mins and resting for 5, inverted onto plate. used a spatula to make sure every square inch of the bread has sauce on it. This way was so much easier and less messy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Innisfail, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2000
I had to grab an apron when dipping them into the butter/sugar mixture, because that's pretty darn messy. I made the bubbles each a little too big, but my mom took one bite and told me that this was the best thing I'd ever made - far beyond her usual "less sugar. More fat. Could've cooked it longer.." DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I took this out of the oven at 9:00. By 9:17 it was gone! I made the dough and put it all together the night before, then refrigerated it overnight, taking it out of the fridge about an hour before baking the next morning. This worked great and I didn't have to get up so early to have a yummy, fun breakfast for my husband and kids Thanksgiving morning. I only used 1/2 the butter/brown sugar syrup and everyone agreed it was still plenty sticky. Great recipe, I will certainly use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2002
WE ALL LOVED THIS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2000
This was the first monkey bread I've made for my family and they loved it! It will be a breakfast we'll have over and over again!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2001
very very yummy and very easy to make and please
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States