Monkey Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This recipe is good, but if you really want amazing monkey bread, try Oprah's recipe! I made some last night, and it was soooo amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Outstanding! Instead of using the bread maker, I followed the order of the San Franciso Sourdough recipe on this site (using the monkey bread measurements of course). After reading the reviews about too much butter, I layered the bundt pan with the butter mixture first (about 1/4 cup) and then topped with walnuts. Then, I dipped each piece as suggested and baked for 20 minutes at 375. I then turned the oven off but left the pan inside to cook for an additional five minutes (I like soft bread but not goo-ey). Absolutely superb! best to make for a large group because it is amazing served warm (re-heating just won't do). Can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fdparker2001
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This tasted absolutely heavenly! My only concern/question was about the kneading... mine got stiff after only three kneads. I was afraid to go any further with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This was pretty good - but the sauce was more like caramel & It needs more cinnamon in it as well. This took really long for me to cook but I think the oven I used needs to be fixed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Love this! I did make a few changes, I cut the brown sugar in half cause my family doesn't like a lot of sweetness and I added walnuts. It made the monkey bread taste like my family's Holiday Braid without all the work of making our holiday braid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Wow, yum! This is definitely the best monkey bread I've had. I've tried another recipe on this site that used refrigerator biscuits, it was good, but this is better. The texture is great. I rolled the balls in cinnamon sugar and then dipped them, and poured the rest of the brown sugar/butter mixture on top. It held together well and looked very nice. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by casey_a_g
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I have just tried this recipe and it turned out very!!! yummy. I followed other reviewers suggestions and used only the half ammount of the sugar and butter. Next time I will try to use even less butter 'cause I still had some left. But I guess if you want it gooey you should follow the recipe. For me and hubby would be way too sweet and fat. It's very feeling with the reduced ammount of butter, anyway! I also omitted the raisins. Just made the little balls and dunk them in melted butter and rolled them in cinammon-sugar mix. Very good! Very exotic looking as well (for Germany at least :). Impressive. I will take one of this to our next coffee gathering in the office. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSECLAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Munich, Bayern, Germany
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe. The only thing that I disliked the first time I made it was ow much waste there was from the brown sugar, butter mixture. I'd cut it in 1/2 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cadee'sMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This was awesome. I added 2 more teaspoons of cinnamon to the sugar/butter mixture before adding the pieces of dough and it tastes just like cinnamon buns. This was almost as easy as monkey bread made with those canned biscuits, but I'm very glad to avoid using anything pre-made, and it was still quite easy. The flavor is different from biscuits, but I think it tastes fresher, and is just as, if not more, versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justina Schneeweis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States