Monkey Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I have just tried this recipe and it turned out very!!! yummy. I followed other reviewers suggestions and used only the half ammount of the sugar and butter. Next time I will try to use even less butter 'cause I still had some left. But I guess if you want it gooey you should follow the recipe. For me and hubby would be way too sweet and fat. It's very feeling with the reduced ammount of butter, anyway! I also omitted the raisins. Just made the little balls and dunk them in melted butter and rolled them in cinammon-sugar mix. Very good! Very exotic looking as well (for Germany at least :). Impressive. I will take one of this to our next coffee gathering in the office. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSECLAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Munich, Bayern, Germany
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe. The only thing that I disliked the first time I made it was ow much waste there was from the brown sugar, butter mixture. I'd cut it in 1/2 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cadee'sMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This was awesome. I added 2 more teaspoons of cinnamon to the sugar/butter mixture before adding the pieces of dough and it tastes just like cinnamon buns. This was almost as easy as monkey bread made with those canned biscuits, but I'm very glad to avoid using anything pre-made, and it was still quite easy. The flavor is different from biscuits, but I think it tastes fresher, and is just as, if not more, versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustinaKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I'm going to try this again - but as far as using a tube pan - no way. All of the "good stuff" dripped out, burnt in the oven and we were left with a (really good!) loaf of cinnamon bread. The recipe needs to clarify this is meant for bundt pan only - every tube pan I or anyone I asked has seen is a two-piece and the amount of time the dough needs to rise gives the warm sugar butter enough time to run out - then the remaining eeked out in the oven! Eh. But I will try again and repost - the cinnamon bread part was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALIEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I used my Kitchen Aid mixer for the dough part of this recipe. Instead of all water, I used part milk and I warmed it to the proper temperature so I could proof my yeast, as I do not have a bread machine. I proofed the yeast with the warm milk/water and sugar in my mixer bowl for ten minutes, then added the melted butter (I used butter instead of margerine) and the dry ingredients, leaving the raisins for last. This did need a little more flour to get it to form into a ball and jump on the hook. I kneaded the dough with the dough hook for about five minutes, then set it to rise in a greased bowl on a warm heating pad. After it doubled, I made the balls and dipped them in butter (again, I used butter instead of margerine) and sugar. (I added cinnamon and nutmeg to the brown sugar so they'd have just a little more flavor.) I made these into Monkey Bread Muffins (instead of one big monkey bread loaf) by placing three balls into every greased muffin tin, like I would Cloverleaf Rolls. Once they were all done, I set it to rise on the heating pad again until they doubled. 375* for 14 minutes made for perfect Monkey Bread Rolls. This is a great weekend breakfast recipe. I plan on making a thin vanilla glaze to drizzle over the top in the morning. EDITED: These were inhaled. My boys loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Fantastic! I live in Canada and this was better then Tim Horton timbits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I tried many from-scratch monkey bread recipes and this is the best and least complicated dough. I made a couple of alterations though. I noticed that the bits on top have most of that wonderful gooey sauce and at the bottom the bread is rather dry so I made this glaze: 1 tb sp butter, half a cup of powdered sugar, 2 tb spoons milk and a pinch of cinnamon. Mix and bring to the boil on the stove and drizzle it on the bread focusing on the bottom bits. I also used half a cup of butter and a cup and half of brown sugar. I melted the butter, dipped the bread pieces in it and rolled them in the sugar. I didn't add cinnamon to the dough. I added it to the sugar as I read somewhere that cinnamon can kill the yeast or make it less active.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LolaMama
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I wish I could give this 4.5 stars. I can't believe I'm saying this, but -- there was just too much butter. Also, the texture was a little off in my opionion. I wonder if I would like it better made with bread flour instead of all-purpose. However, much better than monkey bread made with canned biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LolaMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Soooooo good. I used 1 egg and 3.25 cup flour. Dipped all pieces and poured rest of butter and sugar over top and baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This recipe is PERFECT! I do not have a bread machine, but I used my KitchenAid to mix the dough and did the rest by hand. Also very delicious without the raisins or nuts (I didnt have any on hand)! I used another poster's suggestion of keeping the butter and brown sugar seperate and dipping the dough balls into each individually and it made a sort of carmel coating on each piece you pull off :) YUM! I will make this recipe for many years to come! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States