Monkey Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I wanted to like this, I really did, but I just couldn't. I found the sauce to be the major problem- the recipe makes too much, and with so much butter it ends up far too rich and cloyingly sweet. Not wanting to waste any, I poured some directly into the pan both before and after dunking all the dough balls. While it makes for a beautiful presentation, there's just so much it's overpowering. Also, the bread the recipe makes seems to be too delicate to stand up to such a heavy sauce. I'm sorry but I will not be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin J. Sky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I'm 42 and I just now found monkey bread...all those wasted years :) This was yummy. I added 1/2 tsp nutmeg to the bread machine ingredients and 1/4 cup walnuts to the brown sugar mixture and it turned out fantastic. Can't wait to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FOODWIZ
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Who knew you could make monkey bread without canned biscuits, or with yeast bread for that matter?! Wow, this was like a big, gooey cinnamon roll. And knowing it was 100% homemade was even better!! Thank you sooooo much! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Great recipe, tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
everyone enjoyed this and i can't wait to make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4in4mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NET10
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
OMG perfection. I did do one change. Instead of dipping the balls of dough into the butter and rolling in sugar I melted the one cup of margarine, 1 cup br. sugar and 1 tsp of cinnamon in a saucepan over medium heat until all the sugar was dissolved. I pour approx 1/3 c into the bottom of my greased bundt pan, added a layer of balls, poured another 1/3 c of sauce, rest of balls, and poured the remaining sauce over everything making sure the top layer of dough balls were coated. covered with plastic wrap and let rise until doubled. after baking for 25 mins and resting for 5, inverted onto plate. used a spatula to make sure every square inch of the bread has sauce on it. This way was so much easier and less messy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Innisfail, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
My dough didn't rise as much as I wanted to, not sure what happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This was my first time making monkey bread and it was much easier than I thought it'd be. I used 2 cups of whole wheat flour and 1 cup of white to make it a little healthier. I also used half the amount of butter and sugar and still had enough. Next time I will dip the bits in butter and then roll in the sugar though as I think that will more evenly spread the sugar throughout it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
super good. My hubby ate it all in 1 day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I never made monkey bread before but am now lovin' it! So much easier than rolling out cinnamon buns! I loved this recipe since it was not refrigerator biscuits based but one I could make myself easily in the bread machine. I followed the recipe exactly, no changes but I did add vanilla extract powder to my dough. I used my tube pan as my bundt pan is kinda small and I was worried about overflow. In order to be mindful of other reviewers who had injury from the hot sugar oozing out the bottom, I wrapped the bottom of my pan in heavy gauge foil then set it in a roasting pan to prevent the foil from falling off when I removed it from the oven. I let the bread cool completely before turning over and removing the foil. Perfect. No mess and no injury. I have already made two more and have them in the freezer. I lined my pan with parchment, loaded in the prepared dough and froze solid. I then wrapped tightly with saran and foil. When ready I will place back in the pan (without the freezer wrapping) and let rise in the fridge overnight. Bake as usual in the morning for a nice-N-easy breakfast treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States