Monkey Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
DANGER: do NOT use a tube pan for this recipe. My 14 year old daughter wanted to make these for Christmas morning, said she could do it herself and now has burns on both hands. A tube pan is a 2 piece unit...when my daughter took it out of the oven, the molten, 350 degree melted sugar poured from the bottom all over her hands. :o(((((( While the taste of this recipe was good (she insisted we eat it while she sat with bandaged hands), the price was NOT worth it. If you are going to make this recipe, use a bundt pan, NOT a tube pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3429 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
I altered the recipe a bit on directions from a friend. I used finely chopped pecans (instead of the walnuts) and 1/2 package of butterscotch pudding mix(cook and serve kind only). I sprayed a teflon bundt pan with Pam, poured in the pecans, sprinkled them with the dry pudding mix. Then I quartered BUTTERMILK (these keep moist much better during cooking) biscuits and rolled each piece in the cinnamon/sugar mixture and layered it on top of the pecans. Three cans of Pillsbury's filled my pan exactly. Then I poured the brown sugar/butter mixture on top and baked it for about 40minutes and turned it over on a serving platter....it didn't stick at all, looked BEAUTIFUL, tasted absolutely delicious and gooey (I had no hard bottom layer, it was moist throughout). Will make for every birthday breakfast, holiday breakfast, etc for years to come....a recipe to pass down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
Very good recipe BUT, DO USE A BUNDT PAN. I used a tube pan like one uses for an Angel Food Cake. You should see the bottom of my oven and the racks,looking like baked on Stalactites!!! Instead of the inviting aroma of cinnamon, my house is filled with the stench of burning brown sugar and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1606 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
Fun to make & Delicious to eat! I cut the recipe into 1/3 and only used 1 can of biscuits in an 8" round cake pan. Cooked for about 20 minutes. My 2 & 1/2 year old enjoyed helping me roll the balls. Also, previous reviewer suggested using a pizza cutter to cut the biscuits--great shortcut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
442 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
This was fantastic. Followed one suggestion by flipping it over onto cake plate before it cooled and the sugar mixture just seeped all the way through - perfect. This is delicious, easy and kids can help make it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
407 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
To make this recipe even quicker, use a pizza cutter to cut up the biscuits. Add a tsp of lecithin, (full recipe) with the butter, to keep the butter from separating from the caramel. I reduced the recipe to one tube of biscuits and baked it in a 8 in round pan. They were done in 12 min. A quick addition to a any breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
344 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2001
This was better than the recipe my mom used (and I loved) when I was a kid! I incurred a problem though when I filled the fluted pan and the loaf pan too full; the caramel spilled over onto the bottom of the oven. The loaf pan should only be about half full, 2/3 for the Bundt pan. The dough seemed to double in size! WONDERFUL breakfast treat for my family and I!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belmond, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2001
Quick and easy. I added 1 teaspoon of vanilla to the caramel sauce while cooking. YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
This is a winner!!! I have made it for several years and am ALWAYS asked for the recipe. You couldn't ask for an easier, more delicious breakfast treat. My husband has to bring a treat for a weekly morning meeting about every 6 weeks and everyone loves when it is his turn because they know I will be making this. I am going to have to start making two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Easy and delicious! One of the better Monkey Bread recipes out there, IMO. For those who want to rate it low or pan it with bad reviews because it's sweet or has too much fat for them, bug off! If you don't want to make it, don't - no one is forcing you to by posting their recipes! Please feel free to go eat nuts, stones and raw grains and keep your judgmental self-righteous opinions to yourselves! Reviews are FOR THOSE WHO'VE MADE THE RECIPE! For what it IS - which is a gooey, sweet TREAT that NO ONE is advocating ANYONE eat on a daily basis - this recipe is a good one. Rant off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States