Monkey Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Fabulous! My 12 year old grandson helped sugar coat the pieces and fill the pan (easy!) while I melted the butter and sugar. We used the Wilton Sand Castle heavy aluminum pan (for lack of having a bundt pan) and it looked AWESOME!!! The lumps/bumps of the pieces made it look like a Harry Potter castle made of rocks, etc. I'll never again use a white cake recipe for that pan. This Monkey bread is quick, easy and, oh...recipe says serves 15....ahhhhhh, more like 6 hungry adults! I use half dark/ half light brown sugar with the butter. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
i followed the directions but the middle just wouldn't cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Fantastic. All my kids loved it! You can get by with a quite a bit less of sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I had monkey bread once in my life and it was 7 years ago. My husband loves it but it was always not something that pops in my mind to make. Yesterday I found this recipe and I thought I'll give it a try. It took me a trip to three different supermarkets to find the biscuit dough but I finally got it and ran home to start my experiment. I did the following modifications though; used 2 containers of the dough, and increased the brown sugar/ butter sauce amount. My bread came out fantastic, and I must say, most of it was gone by just the two of us and a guest. Things I'll do differently next time; use less time in the oven because the sugar sauce started crystallizing and getting hard, and I won't add raisins, just discovered hubby doesn't like them that much. The recipe was phenomenal and easy to make, and the whole house smelled of sweet baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Love this recipe! My family loves it so much it is usually gone the same day I make it. I used 4 containers of biscuits. This means more deliciousness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I loved this! I had a half cup of sugar left over though. I also used pecans instead of the other. Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Wonderful! Just make sure not to use 3 cans of GRANDS biscuits (lesson learned major overflow) if using GRANDS cut it back to 2 cans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
shrunk to 1/3 size of recipe and put in 9 x 7 loaf pan. Used Walnuts & Raisins....Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Very easy to make and tastes great!! It was a bit over done at 35 moin., though. I'll probably cut the time to 30 min. next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
We absolutely love monkey bread in all its fattening glory. However, reading over the reviews, I notice the very first reviewer mentions NOT to use a tube pan because they are 2-piece pans! Although you CAN purchase tube pans with removable parts, the ones I choose (been baking since I was 9 and won blue ribbons for my baking) are NEVER that type! It's very sad that the child, and others, got burned. Boiling sugar causes BAD burns! Use a NORMAL tube/bundt pan, not one with removable parts and do NOT use a springform pan! We actually make this using homemade biscuit dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarolinaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States