Monkey Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Carthage, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I used a bundt pan for this recipe. For the icing, I added an extra cup of brown sugar, 1/2 tsp of vanilla, 3/4 cup butter (I don't like margarine) and added a 1/2 cup of Bacardi gold (this amount covered the 3 cans of biscuits perfectly). To the sugar and cinnamon mix, I added a tsp of nutmeg and a box of butterscotch jello pudding. I used sliced almonds and left out the raisins. Tip: Using a whisk to stir the icing made it nice and smooth. Bake on the top rack & you may want to place a cookie sheet (or foil) on the bottom rack to catch any drippings to cut down on clean up time. It was delicious! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Red Hot Cookin' Ann
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This is the first I've made this recipe and everyone loved it!! I did adjust the serving size to 10 which meant I needed just 2 packages of biscuit dough which was the exact amount to fill a Bundt pan. I, also, did not use raisins or walnuts and used butter instead. It was just as delicious. Definite keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red Hot Cookin' Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I made it this morning, I put into it 1/4 tsp. cloves and I used pecans. I used only 2 packs of butter milk biscuits and it was wonderful!! It was to much for my husband and I so I shared it with my neighbor. She called me and said it was awesome and her husband said get that recipe. Thanks LuAnn for sharing this wonderful recipe.-beveri15
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beveri15

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Used the grands (2 cans) but didn't cut them up..stood them on end instead so an angelfood cake pan can be used with no boil over. The carmel sauce gets between each one just fine. No raisins, nuts or frosting. Sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This was very good! I don't understand what the problem with tube pans are....there was no problem. A few reviewers mentioned a problem, but it sounded like they used a springform pan that has a bottom that removes, so the syrup might leak. A tube pan is a one piece pan that you usually make angel food cake in. Try the recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmelulu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
It never fails to amaze me that there are people out there that think they are the only one who knows how to cook. Then they start to tear the receipe apart that LuAnn was gracious enough to share. I think this recipe is delish EXACTLY as written. If you want to alter it, go right ahead, but don't be rude and say it was too sweet, or you need to do this and don't do that, be nice and keep your comments to yourself, as for me? I will enjoy this wonderful recipe and enjoy all the sugar and butter and smile while I eat it, after all, you don't have to sit there and eat the whole thing! Mmmmm pour me another cup of coffee with this, will ya?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rutledge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CaliGirl
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
OM Gosh!! It was soo gooey & tasty. I usually have something I change on these recipes but this one I followed exactly with the exception of how many raisins. I just sprinkled til it looked good ;-) I will add nuts next time. Since they are soo expensive, I chose to wait to see if I liked the recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaliGirl
Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Excellent recipe, but as another reviewer said, use a bundt pan, not a tube pan. I used the tube pan and the butter leaked out and started a fire on the bottom of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WisconsinMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I've been making this recipe for many years. I use 4 pkgs of the biscuits, put whole pecans in the bottom of a bundt pan. I bake it for 30 minutes or until medium brown on top. As soon as it's done, I flip it over on to a large plate or cookie sheet lined with foil. I also cut the biscuits with a scissors. I do not use raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States