Monkey Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
We absolutely love monkey bread in all its fattening glory. However, reading over the reviews, I notice the very first reviewer mentions NOT to use a tube pan because they are 2-piece pans! Although you CAN purchase tube pans with removable parts, the ones I choose (been baking since I was 9 and won blue ribbons for my baking) are NEVER that type! It's very sad that the child, and others, got burned. Boiling sugar causes BAD burns! Use a NORMAL tube/bundt pan, not one with removable parts and do NOT use a springform pan! We actually make this using homemade biscuit dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarolinaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This was such a great result for the brunch I made for Mothers Day. Everyone loved it. I added a pinch of salt and a teaspoon of vanilla to the stovetop Carmel mixture and baked 10 min longer. Turned out perfect. Really Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Love this recipe and so easy to throw together - especially easy for brunch. be sure to read the size of the can as they vary between manufacturers to make sure you don't have too much biscuit or the center will be undercooked. I followed a friend's suggestion and just got 3 cans of Grands Buttermilk - too much biscuit - almost raw in the center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
My family gobbled this right up. I did omit the nuts and raisins as my kids don't care for them but without they just loved this. I thought it would last until tomorrow but it was gone shortly after dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I have made this and used a bundt pan. They turned out amazing. I would suggest putting a baking sheet under it so it does not boil over and go to the bottom of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wicked_Twyst

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Palestine, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Awesome. Used cran-strawberries and toasted my walnuts first. Also added Hershey's chocolate syrup into the carmel mixture. Took half to work and it was gone in a few hours. It was really fun to put together. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katrwag

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manteca, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
brown sugar topping got a little grainy, perhaps I cooked it too long. Next time probably won't boil it for one minute, just let the butter melt until the sugar is melted and combined. Frozen biscuit dough works as well as the tube kind. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I must have spent ten minutes in front of the refrigerated biscuit dough trying to figure out which one would work, because nothing seemed to fit the description of the recipe! FYI, I settled on two tubes of the Large Southern-Style biscuits, and that worked perfectly. I cut those Large biscuits into 6 pieces rather than 4 as the recipe suggests, and that worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This was amazing. My children loved it. It kept them busy making and eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Harner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I made this one morning at breakfast and the family went crazy. They loved it and so did I. I didn't add the walnuts or raisins. It was perfect... Thanks LuAnn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States