Monkey Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
My family loved it! It was easy to make. I took the advice of a few. I used 3 packages of biscuits. I didn't slice them in quarters since it was small. I did use 2 cubes of butter putting remaining butter on top. Much easier than another recipe I was using. I can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MelissasMeals
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Yumm! Very easy and pretty inexpensive too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissasMeals

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I wanted to start this recipe as a Holiday family tradition but it didn't work out that way. No its made every other Sunday because my husband loves it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daphne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hebron, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Saint Robert, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
So yummy & easy to make! It did need more time in the oven (55 min) however I used a silicone tube pan instead. I used a mixture of chopped pecans & peanuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LewLew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by wynter
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
VERY good, but I have found it is even better when you make the sticky bun dough froms scratch (like you are making cinnamon rolls). Takes a little more work and time because it uses yeast, but if you do it in your bread machine, it is well worth the extra hour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wynter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by erikagee
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I just got done making this. It's great. I had to make a double batch because I have a really big bunt pan. It didn't work so well because the outside got really hard and some of the middle is still not all the way done. The hardness is from trying to cook it longer so it would all be done. I guess I will just have to get a smaller pan. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erikagee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
My Monkey Bread did not turn out at all gooey like the photo shows. Are you supposed to dump in the left over butter and sugar/pudding mix? It doesn't say to do that in the instructions. I think if these were gooey they would be much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
The rating that I am giving refers to the ingrediants that I used: While I like the idea of ready-to-bake dough, I prefer to make mine from scratch if I have the time, which is what I did. I used an 8g pack of yeast, mixed with a cup of warm water and a tsp of sugar, proofed it for 10 min, and then mixed with 3 cups of flour. By hand, I knead the dough for 10 minutes, until smooth and elastic. I then let it rise in an oiled bowl for an hour, covered with a tea towel. After it has risen, I punch it down, pour out onto a floured surface, knead it for a few minutes and then let it rest again, for 10 minutes, before portioning out into little rolled balls. I then followed the rest of the recipe (melted butter/pudding/sugar/cinnamon) and let them rise again, covered, for another 15 minutes, and baked for 30 minutes at 350. After letting it rest for half an hour (yes, a lot of waiting but so worth it), I turned them out on a platter, and there was a nice ooey, gooey caramel sauce coating them. My husband and sons enjoyed them and I hope to make them again. I will follow the original recipe in a pinch if needed, as I'm sure they'd be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
My thoughts: Recipe calls for refrigerated biscuits, well if you don't buy this often let me tell you there are too many kinds out there. I bought the Pillsbury GRANDS (grands=bigger size) 16.5 oz 2 cans was enough. My mistake I bought them buttermilk and the monkey bread came out a bit tooo buttery (they do have plain original or homestyle biscuits). I do have to confess I followed someone's review recomendations and increased the butter and sugar mixture but even doing that the bread was not wet and glossy like the picture, it came out looking dry, it was nice and sticky between pieces but was hoping for some more caramel sauce. Next time I will buy Original pillsbury biscuits, no butter flavor, I will also not add the butterschoth pudding mix (I think that added to the buttery flavor). Instead I might add this: cook aside on stove some brown sugar, butter and corn syrup as a syrup to add on top. I made it on a bundt pan. I am curious how the person on this recipe got it to be sooo glossy for the picture, maybe there is something not clear on the recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla Ly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
My kids loved this for Christmas Day. I didn't have the refrigerated biscuits so I used frozen biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winthrop, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States