Monkey Banana Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Very good. I'm lazy, so I used a 1/2 tsp. of ground cloves so I wouldn't have to strain it. My kids had some warm with Peanut Butter and Co's Bees Knees peanut butter for lunch and flipped for it. I liked that this was easy enough that I didn't have to babysit it, I just had my son help me throw everything together with the pan and he was in charge of making sure it didn't burn. Nice way to use up ripe bananas. Next time, I might add a mixture of cloves, cinnamon and nutmeg. EDITED: You seriously can get by with 1/4 of the sugar called for. It really just depends on how ripe your bananas are and how strong your sweet tooth is. Now that I've made this a couple times, I like to add 1/2 c. chopped walnuts after the boiling step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
My family loves this! I used ground cloves, cinnamon, nutmeg and bottled lemon juice. It's wonderful on a peanut butter sandwich, and my husband will even grab a spoonfull of it here and there. We plan to make a bunch of it and give away as Christmas gifts this year. My only question is how long the jam lasts before it gets to be too old. Does anyone know? This truly is one yummy recipe we'll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Yummy stuff!!! I made a triple batch of this today and it tastes great. I also used ground cloves in addition to a bit of fresh grated nutmeg and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
good stuff! thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Great way to use up really ripe bananas. I added cinnamon sticks, and it came out great. Perfect for toast, English muffins, pancakes, and of course, the good old peanut butter and jelly sandwich! Might be a smart idea to put cloves and cinnamon sticks in cheesecloth or even a tea ball. Straining it was easier said than done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This is a cool way to use up ripe bananas! Tastes really good, but it could definitely use a bit less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Very, very good!! I did take the advice of previous reviews and used less sugar. I used very ripe bananas (about 6), 1 1/2 cup sugar, 1/8 tsp ground clove, 1/8 tsp ground nutmeg, and 1/4 tsp cinnamon. The results are fabulous! Both my girls, ages 3 & 6, absolutely LOVE this! Will definitely be making this again! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I made 1/3 of the recipe as a test run. It was delicious. I used all the sugar and will cut back on it next time. I also added some cinnamon and nutmeg like some other suggested. I look forward to having some brown bananas again soon so I can make a full batch of this jam. It is so good with peanut butter on toast! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
USE GROUND CLOVES, NOT WHOLE!!!! I just wasted all the ingredients and am the proud owner of three half pints of banana spiced soup because it's impossible to get the cloves out without also getting all the banana pulp after it cooks down. I really hate to rate it so low because it has good flavor but it's basically a ruined recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatsworth, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dalton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This is so good. I wasn't sure if it would work but I used ripe frozen bananas that I had been saving (thawed them first) and it turned out fine, a great way to use them up. At the suggestion of others I also added 1/8 tsp. of allspice, ground cloves and nutmeg and 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon. I also added 1 tsp. of vanilla. I never cut back on the sugar since it was the first time I made it but next time I will cut it back some as it's very sweet. None the less it is very good and I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States